We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”

Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar
Ranked #58 of 178 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were there for Christmas dinner,Dec. 2011. The food was ok, instant mashed potatoes???
Had not returned since.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabethsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colininpv, Owner at Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I am sorry that you did not find our Christmas dinner enjoyable and that you waited 16 months to write a review about it. I would have been happy to respond to your concern at that time but there is little I can do for you know. For the record, all of our food is prepared on site and we have never nor will we ever use instant potatoes especially for our Christmas dinner. I will admit that the Mexicans make their mashed potatoes runnier than we are used to but they use real potatoes. We offered our homemade Christmas dinner again this year and all of the feedback on the food was positive.

As a fellow Winnipeger I hope that you will come back in again and spend some time enjoying yourself on our beach here in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    68
    8
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Got up and left...”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Got there about 11:30am...sat down at a table on the beach, and waited...after about 10 minutes, my husband finally went inside & told them we'd like a bucket of beer. Again...we waited. Finally got up & went next door to Adauto's and had great service & ended up going back there again and again!

We did end up going back to Breaker's one evening, but only because a friend's band was playing. That night they had a bbq buffet for a set price. Food was great! Wish they'd be more consistent with their service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colininpv, Owner at Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you did not have a great experience and apologize for the poor service. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the BBQ night and we will work to ensure that all of our customers receive a consistant high level of service. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best beach bar in Bucerias”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Breakers is a highly entertaining beach bar.The staff are well trained and try to meet your needs.
Once there they treat you as if they have known you a lifetime.
The bands are top notch and Friday night Mexicain Fiesta is wonderful.
The food is good and the view of the sunset is great.
The owner is very involved with Bucerias.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freedom489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colininpv, Owner at Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We try hard to provide a nice experience for all of our customers and to make them feel at home. It is our priviledge to live in such a wonderful community and we enjoy giving back and helping our nieghbors and the wondeful charitable organizations here in Bucerias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible BBQ chicken, cold limp fries!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Waited a long time for a very disappointing lunch. Looked at the tough dried out piece of leathery chicken and then picked up a cold French fry that fell apart as it was limp and soggy. Remarked to the waiter that the meal must have been sitting for a while so he said he'd bring me some hot fries (he obviously wasn't going to do anything about the chicken, which tasted as bad as it looked). 20 minutes later the new fries appeared and although hot, they were white in color because they were hardly cooked. All in all, a very bad experience although the view upstairs was lovely. We were here before and thought it was okay but after this last experience it is doubtful we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jogen4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colininpv, Owner at Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apologies for your experience. We work hard to ensure all of our customers are satisified and we did not meet that in your case. I have made some staffing changes which addressed these issues so I do hope you come out and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mexican beach bar with Jets games!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Nuevo Vallarta and we heard there was a bar in Bucerias where you could watch the Winnipeg Jets games. The bar is owned by a Winnipegger. So of course, we had to check it out. Breakers is on the main road and is easy to find. Upon arriving we were greeted by a young lady who was eager to assist us. We told her we were there to watch the Winnipeg Jets game and immediately she put the game on! Five beers in a bucket were 100 pesos which wasn't bad. We also ordered the nachos and the jalapeno poppers. The nachos were the typical Mexican nachos; however, the jalapeno poppers were the best I've ever had! They were real jalapenos stuffed with a fabulous filling and only lightly breaded. Not the pickled jalapeno version we are used to in Canada. We met some other Winnipeggers there who were excited to be able to watch the Jets play while on vacation in Mexico as well! Not only were we able to watch our favourite team play, we were able to meet some new friends. The food and the drinks were good as well and we thought the bill was a very reasonable price. For any hockey fans out there visiting this area, I would highly recommend visiting this bar.

Helpful?
Thank adz1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colininpv, Owner at Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your nice review. As a fellow Winnipegger I am happy to have the Jets back and to be able to show games to fans while on vacation. All the best and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Breakers Restaurant and Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing