We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good as usual”
Review of Miguel Angel

Miguel Angel
Ranked #7 of 172 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good as usual”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I know the construction is causing some headaches for this place, but we have been a few times and it has been very good. The only reason it did not get five stars is due to the "best margaritas". In my opinion, they are definitely not the best. Way too salty. We actually stick to the beers.
The food is great. The guacamole is nice and fresh and the tacos were great. We will always go back....construction or not.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    155
    40
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing This Year!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been visiting Bucerias for 6 years consecutively and always go to Miguel's. Their food and drinks are normally the best and we are happy. This year, Miguel spoke to us many times throughout our vacation and complained about the construction affecting his business. On one night in particular, we were convinced by him to come in (there were no other customers) to have the "Best Margarita in Town!" We were reluctant because it was late, but he begged us. We got our drinks quickly and took a BIG sip. They were disgusting!! They were loaded with lime and salt and they tasted horrible. In the past we have enjoyed them. We tried to choke them down so we could leave. No quality check was done, so we flagged the server down for the bill. He asked how we liked them and we told him the truth. We did not like them. He took our money and then Miguel came over and asked how we liked them. Again, we told the truth. He called the server over and told him to ask us what we thought. Again, the same. We said we didn't think we should have to pay for them. Miguel insisted that we pay for them and we could come back in 2 days (after the Superbowl) to get 2 free Margaritas made properly. We agreed. We saw him the next day and said we would see him tomorrow for our free drinks. He smiled and said "ok". We returned the next day and asked Miguel for our free drinks and he said"no". Good thing there is an OXXO right next door to get pepto bismol for the heartburn! We left and will never return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedishCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here for 15 years and have always had the best customer service food and drinks! We have become good friends with Miguel and his family! Jairo is an amazing server and Captain Morgan"Carlos" an excellent bartender! Feels like home!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Retirebucerias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, drinks and good food.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I was with a group of seven people that travelled to the PVR area in January 2014. Each time we go, we are sure to visit Miguel's on a couple of different occasions. This year it was different. The margaritas were still great, the service attentive and welcoming, the food was pretty good but unfortunately there is some pretty loud construction going on directly out front of the restaurant. It is mainly concrete work so there were loud drills and saws creating all sorts of noise and dust that was distracting and probably a bit detrimental to the business of the restaurant. Miguel was quick to apologize for the noise and dust, though we knew it was out of his power and were happy to stay as we always enjoy our visits to his restaurant.
To start with we had chips, salsa and the worlds best guacamole. for lunch, two of us had the Mexican combo platter. Filled with many of our favourites including stuffed pepper, quesadilla etc. it was good but slightly over cooked. My son had the grilled whole red snapper and loved it. The cocoa nut shrimp was another favourite of everyone. Mango and cucumber margaritas were masterfully mixed with fresh fruit.

I recommend going to Miguel's. We will definitely be back. We would have went back on this trip again if not for the noise and dust from the construction. Miguel does think it should be over soon though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still an excellent meal. Too bad about construction.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Every time I've been to Bucerias, it's a must to dine at Miguel Angel's. The food didn't disappoint, again. But I feel for them with construction outside the restaurant. A new town square is being built.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel Angel also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Miguel Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing