We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips, The price is RIGHT!!”
Review of Flaky's Fish and Chips - CLOSED

Flaky's Fish and Chips
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: We are now located in Downtown Bucerias. One block north of the Plaza.In front of the 25 peso store. We have seating outside and inside.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips, The price is RIGHT!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A tiny little hole in the wall, with tables and chairs on the side of the street. We had the best fish and chips platter this side of UK. While the chips were good, we rated them average, but the fish more than made up for that..generous portions of white fish, fried in the most delicate and tasty batter, with a small portion of cole slaw on the side, very yummy...Fish tacos were also on the menu....will definately return next year for those.
The price was more than reasonable for what we had, on the down side....only soft drinks and water are available....would have loved a cold beer or glass of chardonnay.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great onion rings.”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We went late at night and tried the clam chowder because we heard people say it was good. It was good. I had fish and onion rings. The rings were really good and the fish was nice and flaky. Heard other customers complaining of cold food but ours was hot and fresh.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadiangold2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Louisiana Shrimp Boil”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The Friday night shrimp boil is a must. Perry out does himself with this dish. It is so delicious and flavourful, it is not for the faint of heart, it has a bite to it. For the art festival Perry introduced fish tacos to his menu. We were the first to try them, and we were not disappointed. They were so good, we went back again. Looking forward to the shrimp boil next year

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shedenlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Quite possibly the best fish and chips I've ever had!”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My husband and I found this restaurant by accident and we are so glad we did. The crust on the fish was so light and crispy and flavorful. The owner Perry is so friendly, he even shared his recipe for his awesome Tartar sauce with me. (No luck on getting his recipe for the batter though. Darn!)
Great prices too. I can't wait to go back in February.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomandDebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Fish and Chips on the Bay”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Been in Bucerias 3 weeks now and I have eaten at Flaky's at least 8 times. Perry the owner, a one time Chef in the U.S. prides himself on making basic food with a chef's flair. Beside the Awesome Fish and Chips ( large order for only 85 Pesos) he serves some of the best Chili Carne, Clam Chowder, Split Pea Soup and Lasagna to name a few. On Friday he makes Louisianan Shrimp Gumbo that is out of this world. His Chili, Lasagna and Soups are also prepared to go, which comes in handy when you're on the go all day, just pop in microwave. I haven't written many reviews but this place was a saving grace for someone like me new to Bucerias

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinnieP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaky's Fish and Chips also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing