We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rinconcito De Poncho

El Rinconcito De Poncho
Ranked #47 of 168 Restaurants in Bucerias
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent food, outstanding value, and Poncho is a doll. The customer always comes first. Physical plant a bit rough but the value and service compensate. Family run.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mombocita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, great service. HE'S MOVING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We first met Poncho at the Red Apple, then went looking for him and his restaurant when we found he had moved. His food is authentic and very reasonably priced and his whole family is often at the restaurant (except for the sons at university) and they are all friendly and welcoming, even the little kids. If what you want isn't on the menu he might be able to make it for you anyway. My sister wanted some of his carrot soup one day when it wasn't on the menu, he made some especially for her, another day we just wanted a hamburger (not on the menu) he made them for us. He told us just a couple of days ago that he is moving across the street so if you go looking and he's not where the map indicates just turn around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon_from_Boise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Food and News from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Last year we ate at El Reconcito de Poncho for the first time. The food was very good and, thanks to some inquisitive Canadians, we learned a lot about Poncho and his six children as he answered the many questions the Canucks asked. This year there were no Canadians, but we got to meet Poncho's eleven month old daughter and his four year old daughter. Both were very cute. I was able to speak with the older daughtrer who has a pretty good command of English while I know at least a little Spanish.

The food this year, as last year, was very good. I had chicken quesadillas while my spouse had fajitas. Both were excellent as were the sangria drinks. The food is reasonably priced. Poncho is a very attentive host.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very friendly and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Poncho and his family are very welcoming. The restaurant is unique, and the food is good. Prices are fair. We always eat there several times while in Bucerias

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgib43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've been visiting Bucerias several times every year since 1995. Ponchos is relatively "New" for me. The food is Very Good. ! Portions are more than adequate. And prices are Low. I always visit Ponchos for Breakfast. His Chicken Chillaquiles are un-beatable in my opinion. REAL Mexican food. With generous portions.!!
Unless his business changes......... I would continue to rate Ponchos as 5 stars.

Bill Jensen

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pampanga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rinconcito De Poncho also viewed

 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to El Rinconcito De Poncho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing