We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great ”

Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #14 of 173 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always great ”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Dugarels is the place we always visit on our first night in Mexico. We always attempt to dine at sunset to take advantage of the wonderful view. Food and service is always exceptional.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    74
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Platter”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

After wandering around Bucerias and finding a couple of the restaurants that we had considered, closed for the day we decided on Dugarel Plays. This turned out to be an excellent choice. We were seated on the balcony with a great view of the beach. My wife and I each had the Mexican Platter which was a combination of several Mexican dishes. Our son had the shrimp. All the food was fantastic, very tasty. This turned out to be one of the best meals we had on this trip. The price was also very reasonable. Patrons seated near us finished their meal with Mexican Coffee, which involved quite an elaborate process to prepare, but it sounded like it was delicious. If we were not so stuffed from the great meal and feeling some effects from the margarita we would have tried it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The food was the best of the Trip”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had the Mexican Plate (Chicken and Beef Enchiladas with a stuffed Poblano chile)and my wife had the filet of fresh caught Mahi - Mahi. What was the most tasty item? The shrimp stuffed avocado - it was the bomb. Service was great and you can sit on a covered balcony or right on the beach under a palapa. A must visit...$380 pesos for 2.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarGreenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Seafood by the sea”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My friends & I went here on a holiday to Puerta Vallarta in March and had a wonderful fresh seafood meal. The waiters were very attentive, and the view from the balcony was exceptional & very relaxing.
I ordered the seafood platter and enjoyed every bit except the Mahi Mahi was a little overcooked. But the octopus and shrimp were delectable.
I would return again and certainly hope to in the not too distant future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blackeyedsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You will LOVE the Mexican coffee”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our family has been enjoying Dugarels for over 20 years. The food is always good, the view is outstanding, and the staff feels like family. Rubin is a very gracious host who takes great pride in "his" facility. Our recent amazing meal was made extra special by an amazing Mexican Coffee presentation by Luciano. If you are in Bucerias, you would be crazy not to have a meal here. If you are in PV, it is worth the drive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing