We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant on the beach”
Review of Karen's Place

Karen's Place
Ranked #5 of 175 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bucerias, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Over the past ten years or so, we have been fortunate enough to spend our winters in Bucerias. Karen's has always been an excellent restaurant right on the beach here. We particularly enjoy Karen's for Sunday brunch, although the lunch and dinner offerings are very good any day of the week. Service is outstanding... always pleasant, cheerful and very attentive. You can be assured that you will have a great experience here, good food and great service right on the beach with an outstanding sunset view in the evenings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    288
    82
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyable experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Karen's Place is a enjoyable restaurant that allows you to enjoy the ocean from a lovely view. The food is good, not fantastic but good. The staff and service is great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfrider40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Major Disappointment”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was to be our first dinner on our recent vacation. Memories of excellent meals of two yeats ago had no bearing on the food we were served last week. Bad food, poor service. We will never go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Karen's Place, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thankyou for your comments and to be totally honest this week was a nightmare , no chef and upset staff , thankfully her daughter is out of the hospital and the chef is back tonight , we apologise we tried our best under circumstances out of our controll ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Eat Breakfast, skip dinner”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I will begin by saying that this is one of my fav restaurants for breakfast and lunch but find dinner to be not so good. Keep giving Karen's a chance but it never measures up. Recently six of us had dinner and all were quite disappointed. The tuna w/hoisin is swimming in hoisin and it just overpowers the tuna. The shrimp scampi is in fact not scampi at all, it is a small pile of pasta in the middle of the plate with shrimp on the rim covered in what I could only describe as a thick béchamel sauce. The chicken and the fish special also were only mediocre. There are just better restaurants in town for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Karen's Place, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thankyou for your comments and to be totally honest this week was a nightmare , no chef and upset staff , thankfully her daughter is out of the hospital and the chef is back tonight , we apologise we tried our best under circumstances out of our controll ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really Special”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Make a reservation a day or two in advance, and sit on the beach and enjoy the superb food and service. We had a very, very memorable meal here. Really fun, really sweet, really lovely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burkburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Karen's Place, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thankyou for your wonderful comments , really glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again in the future Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen's Place also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Karen's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing