We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palmeras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palmeras
Ranked #4 of 15 Bucerias B&B and Inns
Columbia Falls, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Thanks to Morris and his incredibly wonderful staff, our Mexico experience is one we can't wait to repeat. We were traveling with a large group of friends from Montana and we felt like we were HOME. Service and rooms were the best, loved the pool party and the massages were awesome. See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveMexicoMontanans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
53
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

I have to agree with Wheezrite. I want to keep it for myself to, so I can return next year. We loved the shady pool, the smallness of the place, the location; a block from the beach, and the perfect rooms that had everything we needed. We had a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESVancouver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delta bc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

We have stayed four times at Las Palmeras, ranging from two to four weeks duration. It is well located and is only a three block walk from the bus to PV. Travel light and take the bus from the airport for 11 pesos. Morris (owner) and Juan (head guy) are very good at making all feel at home. We usually stay in room 5 in the old building (Sunflower room). It is close to everything from upmarket restaurants like Pepe's on the beach to 45 peso lunches down the street and by the highway. The new building is more deluxe but very reasonable.

Our favourite restaurants (CDN spelling!) in town are Miguel Angels on the town square, look for the hockey jerseys and Dugarel Plays at the end of restaurant row for steaks and seafood. On the footbridge side go to Jorge's . Scott tours just by the footbridge gives the best value for booking tours.

We have travelled Mexico extensively for thirty years and have great praise for the warm atmosphere at Las Palmeras, the great value and excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nedandbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I don’t want to praise the Hotel Palmeras but I have to; it is wonderful. I don’t want anyone else going there so I’d like to let you believe some of the other reviews. But they are wrong. If you like Mexico then this is the best place to go.

We first went in February 2010 after booking late in November 2009. In the summer 2010 we heard it was getting booked so we booked for February 2011 and had to book two different rooms to get our three weeks. This year we left nothing to chance and booked for three weeks in 2012 while we were still there. I apologize to all the people who have since tried to book “our room”.

Our first time in the hotel we found things a bit rustic but improvements have been made since then and for very reasonable rates it is hard to beat. They have added egg-crate foam to the mattresses which make them a bit softer. But let’s face it; you are going to Mexico and they like their beds firm. If you don’t like firm beds stay home.

I saw a review complaining about the kitchenware and have to admit that in 2010 I wasn’t impressed but it didn’t stop me from going again. But things have been upgraded and again, you are in Mexico. Deal with it. I won’t deny I would like better pots and pans but if you come across one that isn’t usable they are quick to give you a better one.

What I love about the hotel?

• The staff are wonderful and can’t do enough to help. The maids are warm, friendly, hard-working and thorough. They leave the rooms spotless. And they never stop working!!
• The front desk can help with anything from towels to directions and are always there to help and always have a smile for you.
• The hotel is just the right size. You will meet most of the other guests because there aren’t so many that you won’t eventually end up talking to them. It doesn’t have the huge, impersonal feel of an all-inclusive.
• The same thing goes for the pool. It isn’t huge and rambling; it is the size you would expect in a small hotel and is rarely crowded.
• The location is perfect! Restaurants, buses, markets, shopping; everything is close if you can walk a block or two. There are an amazing number of stores nearby with very nice, locally made décor. Bring an extra suitcase!!
• There is a huge grocery store a quick bus ride away and you can get anything. Mega almost makes North American food stores look small.
• It is quiet. Don’t bother coming if you want to party hardy. It just isn’t that kind of place. Everyone shows respect for the rest of the guests and everyone has a great time.
• Both years the owner threw a pool party with a band, pizza and beer! Can’t beat that!

We did talk about going somewhere else next year but then we thought – where can we get the value, the comfort, the convenience and the familiar faces? This is the place to go! You can eat at a taco stand two blocks to the north or a high-end Italian place two blocks to the south. You can get delicious Greek food in a restaurant right next door to the hotel. I think it is the best run restaurant I have ever seen. You can eat in dozens of restaurants along the beach. You can have breakfast at Sweet Thing or have a Panini across the street at the deli. You can get delicious tacos at a place that just opened this year

I don’t want you to come to the Hotel Palmeras; it is already getting hard to book there. But if you are looking for somewhere simple, reasonable and very welcoming then give it a try – if there are any rooms left.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wheezrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Hotel Palmeras has all the amenities of the nearby resorts, but what we love about it is that it is smaller and somewhat rustic. It has nice rooms with kitchens and a pool that is not always in the sun - which is nice break when you come back from the beach. Great location near restaurants, market, beach and galleries. The safe are friendly - and their is a locked gate at night outside front of hotel for security. Love the Wi-Fi - great to use computer and SYKPE.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGetAwayNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Palmeras has all the amenities of the nearby resorts, but it is smaller and somewhat rustic. It has nice rooms with kitchens and a pretty pool. There are a lot of great restaurants nearby, and it's only a 2 block walk to the craft market or beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seelcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

A friend and I stayed at Hotel Palmeras for two weeks the end of June, first of July. The location was perfect, the pool was perfect, the price was perfect, the staff were great. I appreciated the lower rates for off season, some hotels in Mexico don't offer much of a discount. I enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel, the greenery around the pool was lovely, the view from the roof was awesome. The fridge and kitchenette were handy to have. Wireless internet was available. We were in the older section so the room was a bit shabby, the linen was old, shams were torn and leaking stuffing, the beds weren't comfortable but it got us up early, pillows should have been tossed.
I would stay again, maybe buy my own pillows, and certainly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucerias hotels
0.3 mi away
Bungalows Unelma
Bungalows Unelma
#2 of 3 in Bucerias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cactus Inn
Hotel Cactus Inn
#3 of 3 in Bucerias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia Bucerias
1.2 mi away
Vista Vallarta
Vista Vallarta
#1 of 15 in Bucerias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posada de Bucerias
La Posada de Bucerias
#5 of 15 in Bucerias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmeras

Property: Hotel Palmeras
Address: Avenida Lazaro Cardenas # 35, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Palmeras 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palmeras is set in a refreshing combination of garden beauty and serene atmosphere. Located in the heart of the colorful and charming Mexican town of Bucerias, Mexico. Within two blocks of the hotel, you'll be surrounded by the finest restaurants in Bucerias, plus many shops and galleries. We're a great option for people who prefer small hotels, who want peace and quiet and relaxation while hanging out around the pool amongst lush green vegetation and colorful flowers. Get your well deserved deep relaxation in any of our 21 comfortable suites that are situated around a sparkling, heated pool with sun deck and lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palmeras Bucerias, Mexico - Riviera Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing