We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always consistent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famar Restaurant Bar

Famar Restaurant Bar
Ranked #51 of 168 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bahia de banderas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stopped in, once again, to grab a "quick" breakfast at one of our favourite family operated restaurants in Bucerias the other day and were quite surprized at how busy they were for a mid-week service.
We were seated immediately by the very friendly "hostess" and were, as always greated by the ever-present little rooster that wanders the courtyard style surroundings. We quickly received our juice and coffee as ordered and although quite busy, our meals seemed to take no time at all. Our waitress was always available with coffee (or juice) refills and as always, we were made to feel right at home in this large, but cozy establishment.
I would highly reccommend Famar, on the north lateral in Bucerias, nayarit for a very good meal with excellent value. Nothing fancy but good food, attentive service, value for money and of course, the little rooster. Love it and frequently am their guest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chef-in-banderas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent family style restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place has great food and great value. We usually go for breakfast (eggs benedict and chilaquiles on the menu to die for!) but we have also taken a large group there for an amazing dinner. It is a Bucerias landmark and popular with locals, especially businessmen, as well as tourists. Everything on the menu is well prepared in their spotless, open kitchen. These people know and love the restaurant business - true professionals. They deserve their excellent reputation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas in Bucerias”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have done and in depth analysis of Margs from all over Mexico. It can't be too sweet and the tequila needs to be smooth. And that describes the Margarita at Famar. Yes, the waiter does bring the bottle of tequila to your table in case you'd like a heavier hit of tequilla. And yes, the food is super and there's lots of it. And yes, the staff are friendly and conscientious. Famar is an all round great place to eat, drink and be merry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LibbyinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, consistent food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This is where we go when we don't feel like cooking and want a relatively affordably priced meal. Portions are big on the entrees. We tend to get the delicious fish sandwich. Soups look great too.

Helpful?
Thank Fitzfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great service, the sisters and their staff look after you right from the entrance into the restaurant til you leave. The best fajitas in Bucerias. Great onion rings and the drinks are large and plentiful. They bring a bottle of tequila by in case you need more alcohol than started in the drink (margaritas). Reasonably priced and easy to get there by all means of transport.

Helpful?
Thank kaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famar Restaurant Bar also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Famar Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing