We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly one of the worst places we have ever stayed in”
Review of Hotel Kelep

Hotel Kelep
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kelep
Ranked #10 of 18 Tokaj B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sadly one of the worst places we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On arrival we found our booking, made five months previously was not showing on their reservation system. Took a while to get a room.

While to be fair the rooms were very clean and comfortable the air conditioning did not function at all. The double glazed units had not been fitted well as you could hear ever vehicle that passed and there were many throughout the night. As for the breakfast they were just having a laugh. No Coffee available and you could stir a teabag in the water for tea using your finger it was that tepid. As its a long way from the centre of Tokai along a very noisy dirty road stay somewhere else -

Room Tip: Go elsewhere but if you must not on the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms at a good price. Free parking and wifi, too far to walk to city centre. Staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is OK. Beware of checkout at 11:00. Small outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thé hôtel was recently built with all thé facalities for a 4 star hôtel. Thé room was big, Nice and clean. No bathroom but à very Nice shower. Breakfast was fine. WE also had our dinner there (BBQ meat), which was perfect. We did not have to wait too long (which was thé case everywhere else).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pokyboulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When I was looking for accomodation in/near Tokaj, my priority was more on the price-value ratio rather than the location. That is why, I chose Hotel Kelep. This quite new hotel is at the edge of Tokaj, so if you would like to see the town then you have to walk a lot or drive, however, in the latter case you cannot drink (there is zero tolerance in Hungary when it comes to driving and drinking). Or the third option - you can rent a bike for a reasonable price. That is what we did and had a great time in Tokaj, Tarcal and in Bodrogkesztúr (although, there is a cycle path only in the towns/villages). But back to the hotel - the positive things are:
+ the staff is very kind and helpful
+ the hotel is new
+ there are enough parking spaces
On the other hand:
- the mattresses are too soft
- the breakfast could be better
All in all, it is a good value for your money.

If you are in the area, we recommend you to visit the Dereszla Vineyard in Bodrogkeresztúr and "Anyukám mondta" restaurant in Encs (see my review on it).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden as the other side could be very loud caused by the traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tokaj hotels
9.1 mi away
Magita Hotel
Magita Hotel
#9 of 18 in Tokaj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tokajvar Hotel
Tokajvar Hotel
#3 of 18 in Tokaj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novak Panzio
Novak Panzio
#7 of 18 in Tokaj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Paulay Winehouse
Paulay Winehouse
#2 of 18 in Tokaj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vasko Panzio
Vasko Panzio
#1 of 18 in Tokaj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torkolat Pension
Torkolat Pension
#11 of 18 in Tokaj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kelep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kelep

Property: Hotel Kelep
Address: Bodrogkereszturi ut 44, Tokaj 3910, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Tokaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tokaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kelep 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kelep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing