We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Museum”

Fell Locomotive Museum
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great little Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A great place to stop after the trip over the hill. This little museum is packed with interesting objects and stories as well as the fell engine. Just beside the main road. Such a pity not to stop. Well worth it. A real little gem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly interesting - really enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rather insignificant outside and although have passed it many times never went in but found it very interesting and informative. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glynis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had not intended visiting this museum. When talking with a guide at the nearby Cobblestone Museum about the twisting road between there and Wellington, he explained that it used be much worse and for years they depended solely on a railway that went over those same mountains.

The mountains were so steep that normal trains would not work and so the Fell locomotives were imported to do the job.

They have two engines - one that drives the normal rail wheels and another than drives an internal wheel. This works with a third middle rail to give the train both the traction to get up the steep incline but also to hold in back on the run down.

Cobblestone has a video = fairly long - which they played for us and so the next day we came to the museum.

The Fell Museum was excellent and had a different but even better video.

We did not enjoy our winding road trip back through those mountains on the way back, but certainly could appreciate the important role these engines played until a rail tunnel under the mountain could be built. Sadly, there is no such tunnel for cars!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Together with friends and Enginedrivers we decided to do the Cross Creek walk which goes over the old track where the Fell Locomotives worked. At Featherston we found the museum was closed but rang a number & it was opened especially for us. The person was most helpful & informative & started the display for us. Even if you are not that interested in Railway you could not help but be moved by this piece of history tyhat has been so faithfully preserved.

Helpful?
1 Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
255 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The worlds last remaining Fell steam locomotive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have no interest in trains so didn't go but my husband did and loved it and insisted I put in this report so below are his thoughts about the place. This fine example of British locomotive manufacture was designed to be added to a goods train to get it safely up or down the Rimutaka incline using a 3rd centre rail for traction and braking. The engine has been meticulously restored and workings demonstrated by raising the locomotive slightly off the track and using an electric motor to operate the running gear. This allows the complex valve and timing gear to be observed in action. Documentation and photos at the exhibition are prolific and the audio visual presentation excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fell Locomotive Museum also viewed

 
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Fell Locomotive Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing