We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pies to die for!”

The Clareville Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Carterton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pies to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I would make a major diversion to get their pies! I have not eaten pies for years after so many pathetic pie experiences. But recently I did a tandem skydive and afterwards decided a pie was worth a try. Recommended by the lady working at the Skydive I took a punt. Try the wine and beef pie and lamb and kumara. Do NOT imagine you would want to share one, even with your beloved. Take more home with you to serve to all your favourite peeps. And delicious bread too. Need to try all their sweet things too. Wish they delivered to Wellington!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minniema0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good, We Will Return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited here as a car club monthly run (we booked well in advance) around 11:00am to "do brunch". The Clareville Bakery has had a complete refit prior to opening with new owners. These people know what they are doing! The food and service were superb. I had the 'Baker's Big Breakfast' and every element of it was perfect. My wife had the 'Lamb Pie' and this too was delicious (we shared). One of the unique things about the pie was the piece of lamb (think of one section of a rack of lamb) came with the bone curving out through the top crust of the pastry - very clever and quite unique! Lots of attention to detail here (check out the rolling pin door handles). Good car parking. Most of our group bought a range of breads and other sweet pastries to take away with us. Note: Not open on Sundays. We will be back with a bigger group. Well done Michael and Erica!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“wonderful artisan produce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

a beautiful building - light, modern and spacious and baking to die for. The range of cakes, pies and breads is wonderful - sooooo much temptation! the Cronuts are amazing - light and fluffy with silky smooth custard filling.

Situated on the main road in between Carterton and Masterton this is definitely worth a stop. Great for lunches or a mid morning/afternoon snack with bread to go. Lots of parking and the bakery is wheelchair accessible with ramp and space to move.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One place to return, return too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

love it so much meeting a friend there tomorrow again.. lovely fresh food.. its in an old chapel on SH2.. at Clareville you cant miss it.. good car park.. open Monday to Saturday... come and sample it and return time and time again like others!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank neich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This bakery used to be Devines but has had a complete makeover and is light and bright.
The food and coffee are really good and the pies, Cronuts and fresh bread are great.
Child friendly with good parking.
Friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maisiegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clareville Bakery also viewed

 
Greytown, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to The Clareville Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing