We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food on a rainy day with a glass of good Pinot noir”
Review of Gladstone Vineyard - CLOSED

Gladstone Vineyard
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come and 'taste the terroir' at Gladstone Vineyard, one of the most beautiful vineyards in New Zealand. TASTINGS & WINE SALES Our cellar door is open daily from 11.00am–4.30pm (except public holidays). Discover the story behind the wines, get some great cellar door specials, and walk away with some wines to enjoy and cellar. Free tastings of our award-winning Gladstone Vineyard and 12,000 Miles wines are available at cellar door or sit down in the wine garden to enjoy a tasting tray of our current release red (4x50ml pours $20) or white (4x50ml pours $15) wines. We also welcome larger groups (10 people or more) for tastings and winery tours. Please call ahead or email us to book ($5 pp for tasting, $10 pp for a winery tour and tasting). PLATTERS & REVERSE BYO The sunny and sheltered wine garden overlooks the vineyard and is a great spot to spend a long, lazy afternoon. All our wines are available by the glass or bottle to be enjoyed in our relaxed and family-friendly setting with a petanque court and childrens' play area. You can pick and mix from a selection of New Zealand cheeses, local pate and crackers, which we will serve to you on a platter with relishes and chutneys to enjoy with your wines. We also operate a Reverse BYO – which means you are welcome to bring a picnic to enjoy in the wine garden or on a picnic rug down by the pond, as long as you purchase your beverages from us. As well as our wide range of wines, we have beer, soft drinks and tea/coffee available. A BBQ is also available for hire on request ($10 for gas and cleaning). OUR BEAUTIFUL PLACE After you've enjoyed some of our beautiful wines, discover there's more to Gladstone Vineyard. Take a stroll around the wetlands, check out the weta hotel, feed the ducks by the pond, or play a game of cricket or frisbee by the windmill.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided to make te trip to the region of Martinborough from Wellington. We stopped at the i-site in Martinborough and checked the menus on display. The menu from Gladstone Vineyard Cafe in Carterton called our attention for the kind of dishes on offer and for the reasonably priced menu. So we decided to drive 20 more minutes more to get to this place in front of the vineyards. We had first a free and generous wine tasting of the bottles from the vineyard. They were interesting and good and the manager on duty gave us very interesting comment with each tasting. Then we went to the café. The café is decorated in a cabin log style with a small wood fire. We chose the Pruner's platter for two, made of cured meats, dips, pickles, spreads with excellent homemade bread. It was delicious and especially the chutney which was great with the somewhat tasteless cheese. As a main we had the Surf and Turf sirloin steaks. The steaks were cooked exactly as ordered and although not so tender, they tasted great. The meat was topped with kind of blackened prawns, small scallops and NZ mussels with a light creamy sauce. There was also tasty potatoes. The presentation of the dish was superb and appealing with thinly sliced beetroot. We had too much to order dessert but what we saw on the other tables looked very good. With our meal we had a glass of Pinot Noir 2011 which was great with all we had. The only regret is that the wines on the menu still remain expensive even when ordered in the vineyard café. There is also a large terrace for the sunny days and a little playground for the children. This is a place I would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ib-phix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEKM, Manager at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Wow - thanks for taking the time to give such a detailed and positive response. We'd love to have you back, just mention your trip advisor review and we'll give you a complimentary glass of wine with your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just back from a wonderful lunch served at the cafe that is part of Gladstone vineyards. It's only open Friday to Sunday and very popular - so make sure that you book (several people were turned away whilst we were there). The food was excellent - fresh, tasty, well presented. And accompanied by some very local wines ... So local you could watch the replacements growing.

There is also a vineyard tour and tasting area - but we just wondered near the lake and looked at the sculptures. Lovely day out in the wonderful autumn sunshine.

Thank Chris_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEKM, Manager at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Chris - we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Do come again - and mention your trip advisor review and we'll give you a complimentary glass of wine with your meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Food was fine and was priced reasonably. Ambiance was good and place was very relaxing. Never had a chance to try the wine as I need to drive and my wife is pregnant but will definitely do so the next time.

Thank Romil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We first visited this cafe some years ago and enjoyed it, but it disappointed this time. Perhaps because they seem to get as many diners as they can cope with, without making much effort. Service disappointing, not made to feel welcome. The “one blackboard” menu, where you have to wait long periods while other tables peruse the blackboard and order, never works well, although meals did come quickly once we had ordered. The food is only just okay - for example, one of our meals was some greens, smoked salmon and a container of guacamole with no bread or crackers to try it with - and the platters are a safe enough option but there are other places in the area where the food is lovely. It’s nice to be able to sit at a table under the trees and we enjoy the wines, but a bit of a sharpening up of the whole experience seems to be needed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEKM, Manager at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Michelle - we're sorry we were not up to scratch on this occasion and have definitely taken your comments on board. We hope you can return another time to rectify your recent impressions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Booked two tickets for Wellington On a Plate function at Gladstone on the 10th July, including advising of one veggie person for a Scottish Haggis function on the 18th August. We again mentioned this is in further correspondence with Gladstone prior to the event.. Gladstone said they would provide an alternative.

Anyway, arrived. Enjoyed the reception. Lovely wine..Then we sat down for a meal. The substitute that was provided was 'no substitute at all'. My partner received just tatties and neeps. Seems like the kitchen didn't make much of an effort. In addition, my partner didn't receive her 'haggis substitute' until we had in fact finished ours. Although we had told the service staff of this.

For the second course, as an alternative to sweetbreads. Gladstone was full of imagination - a cheese salad and we didn't receive this super alternative until we were nearly finished our meal. For the main course, plain vegetables were served and again towards the end of our meal.

Therefore, summarizing the above;

We gave the Gladstone over 4 weeks notice, that one veggie haggis was required and reconfirmed a vegetarian alternative prior too our arrival.

The waiting staff where not able to serve a vegetarian meal at the same time as other meals, suggesting a lack of organised co-ordination.

No imagination or thought seemed to be undertaken by the kitchen staff into providing a suitable alternative

Overall, a poor experience for both food and service. Although the wine was great.

Vegetarian food is now mainstream but not a case at the Gladstone, Too be served crap food in 2012 in a unprofessional manner is a return to the dark ages, especially at an event that is part of Wellington on a Plate, showcasing the best of New Zealand cuisine and service


Ian

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEKM, Manager at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We're very sorry to hear of this experience at our ‘Offally Scottish Affair’. We assure visitors to the Gladstone Vineyard Cafe that our normal menu has vegetarian options. However this was a special occasion for Wellington on a Plate, selected on the theme that the dishes were offal-based. We were somewhat surprised that a vegetarian chose to attend such an event!

As it was a set menu, none of our guests had a choice of what they were having for each course. However, they had obviously chosen to come because they liked offal and Scottish food - they left the rest to us.

The lunch was a five course menu, for 55 – 60 people, all being served at the same time. That requires significant organisation for a small café like ours, with only one kitchen cooking space. It put huge pressure on both the kitchen staff and the waiting staff, who were working all week to prepare and were very busy on the day. Unfortunately these pressures impacted on the "imagination" and timeliness of what we were able to provide the one vegetarian on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladstone Vineyard also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing