We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are much better places to eat in this region”
Review of Gladstone Vineyard - CLOSED

Gladstone Vineyard
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come and 'taste the terroir' at Gladstone Vineyard, one of the most beautiful vineyards in New Zealand. TASTINGS & WINE SALES Our cellar door is open daily from 11.00am–4.30pm (except public holidays). Discover the story behind the wines, get some great cellar door specials, and walk away with some wines to enjoy and cellar. Free tastings of our award-winning Gladstone Vineyard and 12,000 Miles wines are available at cellar door or sit down in the wine garden to enjoy a tasting tray of our current release red (4x50ml pours $20) or white (4x50ml pours $15) wines. We also welcome larger groups (10 people or more) for tastings and winery tours. Please call ahead or email us to book ($5 pp for tasting, $10 pp for a winery tour and tasting). PLATTERS & REVERSE BYO The sunny and sheltered wine garden overlooks the vineyard and is a great spot to spend a long, lazy afternoon. All our wines are available by the glass or bottle to be enjoyed in our relaxed and family-friendly setting with a petanque court and childrens' play area. You can pick and mix from a selection of New Zealand cheeses, local pate and crackers, which we will serve to you on a platter with relishes and chutneys to enjoy with your wines. We also operate a Reverse BYO – which means you are welcome to bring a picnic to enjoy in the wine garden or on a picnic rug down by the pond, as long as you purchase your beverages from us. As well as our wide range of wines, we have beer, soft drinks and tea/coffee available. A BBQ is also available for hire on request ($10 for gas and cleaning). OUR BEAUTIFUL PLACE After you've enjoyed some of our beautiful wines, discover there's more to Gladstone Vineyard. Take a stroll around the wetlands, check out the weta hotel, feed the ducks by the pond, or play a game of cricket or frisbee by the windmill.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We first visited this cafe some years ago and enjoyed it, but it disappointed this time. Perhaps because they seem to get as many diners as they can cope with, without making much effort. Service disappointing, not made to feel welcome. The “one blackboard” menu, where you have to wait long periods while other tables peruse the blackboard and order, never works well, although meals did come quickly once we had ordered. The food is only just okay - for example, one of our meals was some greens, smoked salmon and a container of guacamole with no bread or crackers to try it with - and the platters are a safe enough option but there are other places in the area where the food is lovely. It’s nice to be able to sit at a table under the trees and we enjoy the wines, but a bit of a sharpening up of the whole experience seems to be needed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEKM, Manager at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Michelle - we're sorry we were not up to scratch on this occasion and have definitely taken your comments on board. We hope you can return another time to rectify your recent impressions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Booked two tickets for Wellington On a Plate function at Gladstone on the 10th July, including advising of one veggie person for a Scottish Haggis function on the 18th August. We again mentioned this is in further correspondence with Gladstone prior to the event.. Gladstone said they would provide an alternative.

Anyway, arrived. Enjoyed the reception. Lovely wine..Then we sat down for a meal. The substitute that was provided was 'no substitute at all'. My partner received just tatties and neeps. Seems like the kitchen didn't make much of an effort. In addition, my partner didn't receive her 'haggis substitute' until we had in fact finished ours. Although we had told the service staff of this.

For the second course, as an alternative to sweetbreads. Gladstone was full of imagination - a cheese salad and we didn't receive this super alternative until we were nearly finished our meal. For the main course, plain vegetables were served and again towards the end of our meal.

Therefore, summarizing the above;

We gave the Gladstone over 4 weeks notice, that one veggie haggis was required and reconfirmed a vegetarian alternative prior too our arrival.

The waiting staff where not able to serve a vegetarian meal at the same time as other meals, suggesting a lack of organised co-ordination.

No imagination or thought seemed to be undertaken by the kitchen staff into providing a suitable alternative

Overall, a poor experience for both food and service. Although the wine was great.

Vegetarian food is now mainstream but not a case at the Gladstone, Too be served crap food in 2012 in a unprofessional manner is a return to the dark ages, especially at an event that is part of Wellington on a Plate, showcasing the best of New Zealand cuisine and service


Ian

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEKM, Manager at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We're very sorry to hear of this experience at our ‘Offally Scottish Affair’. We assure visitors to the Gladstone Vineyard Cafe that our normal menu has vegetarian options. However this was a special occasion for Wellington on a Plate, selected on the theme that the dishes were offal-based. We were somewhat surprised that a vegetarian chose to attend such an event!

As it was a set menu, none of our guests had a choice of what they were having for each course. However, they had obviously chosen to come because they liked offal and Scottish food - they left the rest to us.

The lunch was a five course menu, for 55 – 60 people, all being served at the same time. That requires significant organisation for a small café like ours, with only one kitchen cooking space. It put huge pressure on both the kitchen staff and the waiting staff, who were working all week to prepare and were very busy on the day. Unfortunately these pressures impacted on the "imagination" and timeliness of what we were able to provide the one vegetarian on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our first visit to the cafe and it won't be the last. We called in for a very late lunch (2.30pm) and were told meals weren't being served anymore but were offered a platter for 2 instead. We chose the ploughman's and it was excellent ~ bread, cheese, ham, tapenade, hummus, cornichons, dips, mussels, and we were offered crackers if we didn't have enough bread. A table outside in the sun, glasses of Sauvignon Blanc, lovely view of the vines and great service, made for a very enjoyable lunch. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

good atmosphere, relaxed lunch with good food. Enjoyed some wine tasting before hand and then a leisurely lunch outside

Thank Tracey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We risked a slight detour to visit this restaurant, based on only one review, but were pleasantly surprised. Although we arrived after two in the afternoon and chef was concerned they had run out of most of the main menu items, they seated us with a smile and managed to rustle up a ploughmans and a seafood platter for two (which they only charged us for a single). Food was lovely, home baked bread, good selection of cold meats and cheeses. The setting was delightful and the service was not to be faulted. We would definitely return. Note. I think the location in trip advisor may be slightly off so check the website to be sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TabHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladstone Vineyard also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing