We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Attractions”

Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This delightful urban park offers visitors a lake, an aviary, a children's playground, mini-golf, a swing bridge, gardens and a deer park.
Brisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of Attractions”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a large beautifully set out park with lots of attractions such as boats for hire on the lake, several playgrounds, a large lake with ducks. Well worth stopping.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pace84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    42
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“One of the best parks in NZ.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been going to Q E park for as long as I can remember. Now I bring my own young family. We celebrate Christmas with the extended family every Boxing Day in the park, it's just the perfect venue. Supermarket and swimming pool over the road. Fabulous wooden playground, paddle boats, deer, ducks (and eels) in the lake who love the bags of bread we bring them. Cafe Cecille has taken the place of the old aquarium, right next to the cricket oval and bowls club. The old part of the cemetery touches this corner of the park, and we always end the day visiting relative from 100 or more years ago. The train, is wonderful! Cheap tickets make for hours of entertainment the kids just love it, and the drivers are always friendly and smiling. Come prepared to spend the day, bring a camera, a blanket to spread under the trees, and relax. There's nothing like it, and I wouldn't change a thing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thankyou earlier generations”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a beautiful park right in town.it contains many mature trees of a huge range of species making it a shady and tranquil sanctuary. Whoever planned this park and created it up to 100 years ago did this community a huge service. Irreplacable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A Park That This Small Town Can Be Proud Of”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

What a nice place.

They have a great kids play area, flying fox, a croquet lawn, a bowls club, a lake with an island and a train.

There is a cricket oval in the middle that is well cared for and a lovely garden. I hear there was an Aviary here once, that would have been nice to see.

Do try the peddle boats for a relaxing tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank I_WillEatYourDonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Revamp under way”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Queen Elizabeth Park is adjacent to the CBD and Tourism Office. It is more than a century old and is currently undergoing redevelopment. Garden beds are planted seasonally, so there will always be colour. A children's playground is in one corner, along with a skate-rink. Plenty of open grassy spaces and lots of trees. An artificial lake (pond) offers opportunities for hiring a boat, or walking around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Elizabeth Park also viewed

Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Queen Elizabeth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing