We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revamp under way”

Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This delightful urban park offers visitors a lake, an aviary, a children's playground, mini-golf, a swing bridge, gardens and a deer park.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Revamp under way”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Queen Elizabeth Park is adjacent to the CBD and Tourism Office. It is more than a century old and is currently undergoing redevelopment. Garden beds are planted seasonally, so there will always be colour. A children's playground is in one corner, along with a skate-rink. Plenty of open grassy spaces and lots of trees. An artificial lake (pond) offers opportunities for hiring a boat, or walking around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    41
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for kids (and dogs)”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

For several years, I had visited the side of the park near the road. This year, with a puppy along, I have been going for walks with my kiwi family inside the park. The park has many different areas and attractions. We went daily for a while and had a different interesting walk each time. I am impressed by the flying fox and the sensible way in which the children use a facility which I am sure Australian OH&S would close down.
[Why is there no general Family category on TripAdvisor for this sort of attraction??]

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 42again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of new Zealands finest in-city public parks.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This has always been a 'must stop' park for our family to visit; from when our children were very young and enjoyed the playgrounds, and now as teenagers to stroll with us through the magnificent mature arboretum styled gardens. Yes a couple of years ago it looked a bit run-down and the older aviaries have been demolished but recent works have opened the vistas, and there are new plantings. We love the park as it changes with the seasons, and the location is excellent with public pool and CBD adjacent. The Civic authority is to be congratulated for the on going work and gentle enhancements.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmaduke04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

A must if you have small children. There is the scare park, the lake to feed the ducks or hire a paddle boat. The mini put and cafe Cecillle. Plus a lovely playground for the kids. Collect acorns to go over the spring bridge to hand feed the red and fallow deer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a must for the family”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

QE Park is great for the whole family, plenty of things for the kids whilst the cafe across the road does great coffee.
positioned well in Masterton you have easy access to a number of amenities to help you fill the whole day.
the park has great adventure playground, mini golf and plenty of room for the kids to run wild
close by is the pool and a supermarket to get some items for an impromptu picnic
it is well worth putting some time aside for a family visit to QE Park

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Elizabeth Park also viewed

Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Queen Elizabeth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing