We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hours of fun..”

Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This delightful urban park offers visitors a lake, an aviary, a children's playground, mini-golf, a swing bridge, gardens and a deer park.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hours of fun..”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

huge play ground for all ages + feeding ducks, train, flying fox, ice-cream truck, bird aviaries & Mini Golf. plenty todo for all ages. Kids & friends love it everytime. An extra bonus of the skatepark, indoor pools, supermarket & coffee shop within 1-2min walk from the park. hardest part is trying to drag your kids away. Recomend 2 hours +

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jojonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    42
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The kids love coming here”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I used to go to this park as a kid, and my kids love coming too. This trip we went for the paddle boats - 20 minutes (or is it 25?) is a good work out and the kids love it. The adventure playground is always a huge hit too. I also enjoy the aviaries but we didn't do that this time around. Nice spots to stop and have a picnic lunch too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of kiddy fun!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had a great family weekend in Masterton, a bit of a last minute decision to go over the hill for the weekend. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer. My son loves the flying fox, it's a shame my 5 year old daughter hopped on and didn't hold on tight enough then came off the other end. The train ride was such a hoot for the kids, brilliant time had by all.

It is a same the Fat Duck cafe has finally closed down, I must admit on our last two visits this place was hitting the skids, why didnt they listen to the restaurant guy onTV3 the restaurant job, as there were loads of us families armed with a couple of $$$ for an ice cream or 4. Can someone get back in there, give the place a good clean and start Selling good food and especially good ice cream!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful leafy retreat”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The park is deservedly popular for its lake (with rental boats), minature railway, and kids playground. Lovely walkways and areas for picnics. The nearby historic cemetery has some great stories to tell.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Autumn walk”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

this park look's its best in autumn when all the old tree's are showing off all there colourful foilage.You can hire boat's to paddle round the lake and it's a nice place to take the kids for a picnic.Also there is a little train that you can go for a ride on

Helpful?
Thank MastertonMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Elizabeth Park also viewed

Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Queen Elizabeth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing