We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and service”

The Village Grinder
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Masterton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A bright and friendly atmosphere with plenty of parking close by. Big windows let you see what's happening outside. Café style cabinet meals and a wide selection of brunch options. Kids menu available.
Masterton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee and service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Village Grinder has a good variety of muffins , yum slices and lunch dishes. Bran muffins are excellent. Always cheerful to a hungry bunch of cyclists who arrive mid mornings in the weekend.
Large latte bowl is a bonus and all well priced

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MastertonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good coffee, mediocre food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

They have consistently good coffee at the Village Grinder, which I buy often. Unfortunately when I recently ate there, I was not overly impressed. Nice enough pumpkin and feta tart from the cabinet but desperately needed seasoning. Side salad was pretty wilted and dry, not fresh looking or tasting. A real pity, I will keep going here for coffee but probably wouldn't eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank sixsilverstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Breakfast was great and friendly service”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Went in for 2 breakfasts and was very impressed with service, quality and price. The girls working were very helpful and friendly, and actually seemed to care about giving efficient and friendly service (different from the UK !)

We felt like locals after our first visit. options for lunch also looked good

Masterton has limited options to eat and a good choice

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gman558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wonderful food and excellent service. Food and coffee was great. All of the food looked like it was made with love. Will definitely be going back. Service was really good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 20Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
2 reviews
“Best in Town”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After moving to Masterton I was so relieved when I found a decent coffee place in masterton. The Village Grinder has impressed me so much that I have rated it the best coffee I have ever had and make it a daily routine by getting my coffee here every day! The staff are always super friendly and the food was excellent, especially how all of it was homemake and in amazing portions!

Loved the atmosphere, the service and the food. I hightly recommend this place to anyone who travels in the wairarapa!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SConnor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Grinder also viewed

 
Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 
Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to The Village Grinder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing