We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Park Motel(Masterton)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highwayman Motel(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterton Motor Lodge(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$81
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amble Inn Motel(Masterton)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Park Motel(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
79
153
64
30
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
153
64
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdriving rangethe grillindoor poolgames roomsquash courtbuffet breakfastsuperior roomstandard hotelmini bargood nights sleepgreat facilitiesone night staygreat for familiesroad tripa great place to staywingscomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 335 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Copthorne Hotel in Masterton is a lovely quiet place to stay - we shared a Junior Suite (two bedrooms) with my mother and found there was plenty of room and absolutely no traffic noise. It is quite an old hotel that has been very smart in its day, and there was a leaking shower head in the bathroom which I complained about and got an instant grateful response saying that it would be seen to which is very impressive. It is also very commendable that there is a toilet separate to the bathroom, with its own handbasin.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaipukRolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We aim to provide a high level of customer service and are pleased your issues were responded to promptly. The hotel received a multi-million dollar upgrade recently and we are looking to do further upgrades in the near future. We hope you will come and stay again. With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed during the school holidays. Was a favourite with the kids as there was plenty to keep them busy with the indoor pool and squash court. Nice clean room, fridge overstocked though, hard to fit some extra bits in. Several light bulbs went and they still had not replaced them by time we left. Would stay though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to use some of the great facilities on-site. We are currently reviewing the content of the minibar and will take your comments into consideration. We hope you will come and stay again. With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a really nice suprise in the Wairarapa. The room was great, and very spacious with comfortable beds and nice decor. Only minor suggestion is a larger TV as it seemed very small for the size of the room. I was in a room at the rear of the property near the golf driving range, gym and indoor pool. Dined in the restaurant and the servcie was excellent and the quality of the food was a pleasant surprise. Would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in Masterton.
Most definitely value for money !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNZfromCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We are currently upgrading all the TV's in the hotel and hope you will find these improved with your next stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and your dining experience in The Grill at Solway Park. With regards Jerry Crump.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed our stay overall. Two comments. One re cleanliness of rooms - could improve slightly, as mirrors marked with handprints and windows grubby. Obviously not cleaned after previous occupants. Second issue - breakfast adequate but not great, as cooked items just warm, not hot. Both easy to resolve and hopefully the next time we stay both will have been addressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cats-r-cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and apologise for the disappointment of the unclean mirrors and breakfast. We value customer feedback and your comments have been passed on to the staff. We hope you will come and stay again in the future.
With regards Jerry Crump, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The outdoor pool is pretty cold and could use some heating but they do have an indoor heated pool as well - though this gets quite busy. Having two options might make for both facilities being better utilised. Who doesn't love a tepid outdoor pool during daylight savings months?

I enjoyed a cold beer at the outdoor tables watching my son swim in the outdoor pool.

A little dated, long corridors but safe for the children to run about. We like it because families come here and my son makes friends.

Room Tip: Some units like ours face the carpark - other face the internal grassed area and pool - it's up to you what you prefer.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Nicky, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you and your son enjoyed the pool complex and had a relaxing stay. We hope you will come and stay again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews