We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay minus breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed in one of the suites at Copthorne Solway and thought it was good valu for money. It was clean, comfortable and tidy with the usual tea/coffee making facilties as well as mini bar. The spa bath was a delight to unwind in before getting a great night sleep in a comfortable bed. The public areas were clean and tidy and the staff were a delight. The only down fall was the breakfast, it was below average with the hot food not even being warm and not a lot of selection and half empty fruit. However, i'd stay again without a thought minus the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Tanya,
Thank you for your posting. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. However we were sorry to read our buffet breakfast was not up to our usual high standard during your stay and deeply apologise for this. Our Food and Beverage Department are taking measures to prevent this from happening again. We look forward to having you back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had an overnight stay in Masterton and chose Copthorne because it had a restaurant and bar. It is easy to find on the main drag but certainly not walking distance into the town centre.

It is an old style hotel that has been upgraded and refurbished to a good standard. Parking is at the door of your unit.

Staff were friendly and helpful, room was large and cleanand there was a heat pump in the room which was certainly needed. Bed was clean and comfortable.

Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay with us at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park Wairarapa. We are very pleased and proud of our latest refurbishments and upgrades and are glad you too felt they are of a good standard. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stay here for work often, rooms are quiet, parking easy, good food in the Grill. Try the doctors riesling its the best!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGuyWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

It's always fantastic to have our regular guests on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your positive feedback. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found yourself a favourite from our wine list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had a 1 night stay, but don't think I'd stay again. The staff were excellent, but the service in the restaurant THE GRILL wasn't upto scratch, we waited just over half an hour for coffee and dessert. The room was fairly standard but very clean and tidy. Bed was rather hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

We thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear your stay with us was not up to scratch and do deeply apologise for this.
Our rooms have all recently been refurbished and are of a very good standard. The majority of feedback from our guests is that our rooms are lovely, comfortable beds, clean and spacious. We are sorry this was not the case for you in this instance. We also sincerely apologise you did not receive our usual high standard of service at The Grill at Solway Park. The Grill prides itself on its great customer service and excellent a la carte menu so are disappointed to hear you had to wait longer than expected for your dessert and coffee. Our Food and Beverage Manager has looked into this and measures are being taken to prevent this from happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed four nights here with our family for my husbands 60th birthday. We arrived after a long drive to lovely warm rooms, all our rooms had the heat pumps on which were very inviting. The rooms were spacious, clean and serviced daily by friendly staff. All the hotel facilities, the heated swimming pool, spa, squash court etc were great for entertaining our lot. We ate at all their restaurants for breakfast and tea. The food and service was excellent. Thank you Copthorne Solway for a very memorable stay and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for posting your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad your family enjoyed your stay with us for the celebration your husbands 60th birthday. Copthorne Solway Park is fantastic Resort for families of all ages offering a wide range of newly refurbished on-site recretional facilities, so it's great to hear you all enjoyed making the most of what we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel and the rooms were very nice. The food and service was excellent. The bar area was very pleasant.
We were booked through the tour operator and therefore had no choice on the location. The hotel was out of town.
We found that there were not enough washing machines as quite a few of us on the tour wanted to use the machines and were unable to.
The best part of staying in this hotle was that one had free internet access in the foyer.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms nearer the bar and dining area otherwise it can be a little walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chander_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as part of your tour, however disappointed to hear that you were unable to get your washing done. We do have a guest laundry as well as offer a dry cleaning service, which is usually ample to service all our guest rooms, however we appreciate that if your tour whole tour group was trying to do laundry at the same time, this would have put the facilities under abnormal pressure – we will be working to ensure that we can offer additional laundry options for future tour groups. We pride ourselves on being a spacious hotel, all on one level amid 24 acres of landscaped grounds and have just this month launched bike hire for guests so that they can explore the Masterton area with ease (the town centre is just 3km from the hotel).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Thank you to the staff o in particular Trent and Jackie for providing us with such nice surroundings for our stay in Masterton. A delightful spacious and clean unit with excellent breakfast and friendly staff all much appreciated

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the Hotel are quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for kindly reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your compliments to Jacqui and Trent. We look forward to having you in-house again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
19.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
232 reviews
11.8 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
171 reviews
19.1 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Masterton
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range: $86 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing