We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Cosy, inviting and all round relaxing."” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Cosy, inviting and all round relaxing."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family and I just got home from a well needed vacation at the Masterton Motor Lodge. The new owners have definately turned it around! I had stayed there previously when it was all a tad dated and unkept. I spoke to the managers about how amazing the grounds look now. The reception area has been upgraded, as well as the rooms. The grounds are looking trimmed and sculpted. The cleanliness has dramatically been increased, our room was spotless. The Lodge Restaurant, was full and we didn't have to wait any longer than 15minutes for our meals!! Impressive or what! Compared to other motels in Masterton, the Masterton Motor Lodge, has character and a friendly face to greet you on arrivial. They provide excellent service and would go to extreme lengths for any guest. I would definately recommend this motel, and can't wait to stay again!!

Room Tip: For a family of 4 i suggest a Two Bedroom Unit. They are spacious and close to the childrens play ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
34
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

This motel goes back to the 60/70's though has benefits over the more modern. Spacious, ground-floor villa-type rooms on large grounds, tennis court, pool, grassed areas for kids ball-play. and way back off the road among trees and shrubbery. Our 2-night stay was very comfortable.
Seeding dandelions on the tennis court suggested a shortage pf players. Pool looked clean though surrounding fence and gates had cobwebs galore making the whole thing look unkempt and needing TLC.
Major gardening work needed. Spouse and self considered this to be a good part-time task for a couple of local retired garden lovers as much initiative needed to get gardens back to what they may have been. It would be a large job for which contractors would have open-sesame costwise.
In it's heyday units had an installed radio, which remains. Initially this provided a 4-station choice though we found the same station on all four selections. Possibly the other three have closed down or changed mega-whatevers. It would be good if an up-to-date radio technician was able to include 3 new stations as otherwise the gizmo is useful only as a clock and one station - and the clock cannot be seen when head is on pillow. To remove it would leave a huge hole in the wall and one has to admit it has antique value in 2011. Shame about this.
We didn't appreciate blood spots on the bottom sheet, however small. Shame about the laundry "spotter" who missed these and about the housekeeper who failed to put the sheet the other way around so the spots would have been at the foot of the bed and thereby unseen by us. Something amiss with management here?
Excellent meals were enjoyed at the restaurant though this is understandable after the 45-minute wait ourselves and the adjacent table experienced. With such good food we ventured back the next night though in finding it empty of diners we didn't favour another 45-minute look at the walls so scurried away to the Cosmopolitan Club which was crowded and had a buffet. Shame about the restaurant as it competes with the Copthorne next door, at almost identical prices, and Cobb & Co two doors away.
All this said, we would certainly return should we again be in town. It''s that favourable feeling of going back in time to the quality motels/hotels which used to be. Leather armchairs for TV watching, comfortable mattress, a bar in-house, drinks in the fridge, walk through a door onto grass, hand-made timber deck-chairs, awake to chirpy birds in trees right at the window, dribbly showers. There's a lot to be said for it and that which may need fixing is certainly fixable. Management shouldn't allow prospective guests go to next door with its chrome and plastic.
I would recommend to friends though with reservations about the high cost of broadband.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Very nice place to stay, would recommend highly. The rooms were spacious and bright and clean. Very well equipped kitchenette. Free guest laundry including free soap powder. Easy parking and good location. Quiet and got a great nights rest. The only downside was internet access was much too expensive, a rip off really. If you stay on a Sunday night you can take advantage of 2 for 1 mains in their restaurant, which was very good. Just make sure you book since the restaurant is small.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backusmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Everything now is immaculate and beautifully done. We had intended to stay just one night but it is so clean and lovely that we stayed for a second night. The interiors of the units are like an upmarket house. The restaurant on the grounds bent over backwards for us and the setting is very quiet and tranquil. This was one of the nicest places we have stayed in over a long trip covering the South and North Islands.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

We had a nice quiet 2 bedroom accomodation at the back of the motor lodge but it was definitely in need of refurbishing. The carpet was very worn and the kitchen definitely needed an upgrade. The bed was sagging but the linens were nice. It would be a great place to stay if it was "renovated". The owner, Wayne, was terrific and a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
340 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

This hotel had a great restaurant in back. We arrived in the evening, tired from our activity that day. They kept the restaurant open and prepared a tasty meal for us. Convenient location in the Masteron/Carterton area. Rooms were older. Found trash and several dead bugs on the floor of the bedroom. Very little water pressure in the shower.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good restaurant, convenient location
  • Disliked — Room could have been cleaner
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Masterton hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.1 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton
1.2 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
Address: 250 High St., Masterton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing