We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Highwayman Motel(Masterton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Park Motel(Masterton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amble Inn Motel(Masterton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
23
16
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadspa bathwould stay here againstayed heregreat hoststhe main roadqueen bedmotor lodgea great place to stayroom was cleanjosupermarketbedsunitmotelstudiokitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 43 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family. Rooms are all clean, warm & equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Heat pump, spa bath, electric blanket big tv, plunger coffee and nice wine glasses! Across road from supermarket, liquor store, KFC, and a handful of food places. I booked the wrong dates and they were ever so nice about it. May not be the cheapest in Masterton, but For quality & location, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Owner off the motel was a person who really went out of her way and lent us her crockpot and electric frypan and gave us a recipe for Macaroni cheese that cooks in the crockpot.
We were there for an unveiling and a family reunion. The family room was to our requirements and clean and tidy.And Laundy was exceptional everything you required.
Even my grandson was sick on the Saturday night and didnt even worry about this ( we cleaned it up as both my daughter in law and myself have both worked in the industry years ago and know what its like) but didnt charge any extra
We as a family ( Mackenzies) cant thank you enough

Room Tip: Family room for families excellent
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Awesome Motel, Great Staff. The room was a great size for the 6 of us (5 adults, 1 4yr old). The Staff were amazing, the owner even lent us their own personal electric fry pan and slow cooker to cook with and even gave us a great receipe (where in the world would you get that service??). My son was extremely sick on the Saturday night and it was all through out the bed, the next morning the housekeepers couldn't of been more kind, caring and understanding and they didn't even charge us a cleaning fee. This Motel and service was above and beyond our expections and we will be definately stay again next time we are over!! A HUGE THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug041983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We were disappointed after reading the advertisement to find that our unit had a queen bed rather than a king. Given that you pay extra for the spa unit you might expect a king size bed. It was a basic bed and you could feel the electric blanket wires through the sheets.
The spa bath was small.
We asked for green milk but they did not have any.
The bed lights were totally useless as it was the ceiling light above the bed! So really not a bed lamp at all.
Other than that it was clean and comfortable.
It was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twizelites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Thank you Jo for your wonderful hospitality. We always stay here when we travel to Masterton. You can always count on it being very clean, great beds, & very helpful staff. It is great to be able to use the laundry. The swimming pool is great after a very hot day in the summer. We just recently had a rush trip down here so was very pleased to be able to book in. Our one bedroom unit had a spa bath so that was so relaxing at the end of the day. Very handy to PaknSave across the road & nearby shops & restaurants. Thanks again, we will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puket135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews