We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're coming back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summit Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Summit Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Masterton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We're coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place to relax and unwind. Excellent hosts and lovely pets! Dinner is highly recommended - the food was outstanding and there was plenty of it. We had a fab time and have booked again in November for our 7th wedding anniversary.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Ann-Marie, thank you so much for your review - and we are very much looking forward to seeing again in November and helping you celebrate your anniversary - when the weather will be warmer, the sun (hopefully) shining and you will be able to soak in the spa under the stars
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We wanted a special getaway and experience not too far from Wellington. And we found it in The Summit Lodge, and our wonderful hosts Tracey & Jim. The Lodge is gorgeous, and straight away my husband and I knew we were in for a treat. The food was specially designed, as it was my husband's birthday weekend getaway. We loved playing with Dexter the labrador, fed the ever so cute alpacas. Not far from the Lodge is the Gladstone Vineyard where we had a deelish lunch, had a wine tasting and bought a case of Savignon Blanc. We had such an enjoyable time in such a beautiful setting. Thanks Tracey & Jim.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATeam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
thank you for your review - and so pleased the weekend lived up to expectations! Dexter says hi - he loves meeting all our guests and gets so excited when he finds new friends! We are very lucky to have the Gladstone Vineyard so close - lovely wine and food....and there are other fabulous wineries close by also (next time!)
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Summit Lodge has to be the number one luxury hotel in the Wairarapa, and a must stay for those travelers looking for 5 star accommodation and service.
Our group of 6 were based at the Summit Lodge for our mid winter Wine trail weekend and found the lodge to be of a very high quality standard, with accommodating hosts and excellent food.
We will book the Summit again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quality stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
hi Greg
loved hosting you all here - it is always fun when we have parties of 6 stay. Plenty more to explore in the 'rapa for your next stay - maybe a farm tour or heritage tour...Stone Henge, Hood Aerodrome, Pioneer Museum, Pukaha Mount Bruce or maybe bring those golf clubs over!
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Was browsing the net looking for a place to stay that's relaxing, a get away from busy life for the weekend, and came across the Summit Lodge! We had an amazing time there and felt really welcome, like home away from home :) Love the alpacas with their different personalities and Dexter and the cats! We felt pampered the whole weekend were there, thank you Tracy & Jim our awesome hosts.

Highly recommend! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
thank you Roth - we very much enjoyed hosting you and your sister - and the animals loved meeting you! Hope to see you again soon
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Summit Lodge last weekend. We have never been to a "boutique" lodge before so we were very interested in seeing what it would be like. It was great. Our hosts, Tracey & Jim, made us feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and the food was wonderful. We recommend Summit Lodge to anyone who wants to kick back and feel spoiled.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable with ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review Leo - Jim and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'd never been to a boutique lodge before so came with an open mind. We were greeting by Dexter the chocolate Labrador as we drove into the driveway. Jim and Tracey are the hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable very quickly, showing us around and giving us all the information we could possibly need in order to ensure we had everything at our fingertips.

Jim & Tracey really have thought of everything a guest would/could require; from the huge, comfortable bed to the lavish guest lounge complete with lazyboy couches, home made biscuits, a refrigerator with fresh chilled water and home theatre system, to the spa pool and gorgeous grounds to wander around at your leisure.

Each ensuite has everything you could need, right down to the cotton buds provided. Tracey took us out to feed the alpacas, which was great fun and there are 5 cats to play with if you'd like to but they are usually put away in the host's quarters, so never a nuisance.

We chose to do experience all the Lodge had to offer so booked in for dinner that evening and Tracey and Jim welcomed us into the warm dining room at 7 sharp, where the gorgeous smells had been enticing us most of the afternoon. The meal was gorgeous and Jim offered us a choice of several local wines and recommended appropriate ones for each course.

We'd highly recommend experiencing the whole package here, if you're just wanting somewhere to stay then there are plenty of motels and hotels. The Summit Lodge is a boutique hotel which offers a great setting to relax in and enjoy being pampered, from the grounds, hosts, food and even a spa under the stars to top off the wonderful evening.

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thanks Andrea - we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. You certainly made a hit with the animals - they loved you (particularly Cino, the Birmese and Dexter)!

As you know we love cooking and it is always a pleasure to host guests over dinner and wine and indulge in good conversation! Look forward to seeing you again soon...and next time venison will be on the menu (specially for you) and, if winter kicks in, it might warrent wood fires.

Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Summit Lodge just last weekend. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary. The experience was great. Tracey & Jim are great hosts. They organised transport for us, advised of event going on locally that we had a great time at and introduced us to the locals.
The room was terrific, lovely spa pool and yummy breakfast.
The area is very lovely, even under almost drought conditions.

We would highly recommend Summit Lodge. T&D

Room Tip: We took the room at the end of the lodge, which meant we were a bit seperate from others. Lounge wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tess n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
it was a delight hosting you and the other guests last weekend, Tess! The Wairarapa Harvest Festival is one of our favourite local events - so much wonderful food and wine, laid back music, shady trees and friendly atmosphere - we loved sharing it!
We are officially inow n draught - the gardens look so much better when the lawns are green but mustn't complain about the blue skies and sun we have been experiencing.
Look forward to seeing you again - in winter you can snuggle up in front of the open fire in the guest lounge or dinning room - perfect for lamb shanks or a tagine and a drop of local pinot noir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
12.7 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
8.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
34.1 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
8.8 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Lodge

Property: The Summit Lodge
Address: 4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summit Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge, Gladstone provides 5-star, peaceful, quiet accommodation for a maximum of 6 guests in a private wing of the lodge. Each guest room has ensuite facilities and a private patio as well as heat pump/air con. A large lounge is available exclusively for guest use and the Lodge offers wifi access throughout. Beautiful views of farmland and rolling hills, alpacas to meet and feed and range of cats as well as a Labrador dog. Cooked and continental breakfast options with home baked bread, home toasted muesli, fresh fruit, espresso coffee/teas, free range eggs and locally cured bacon. Dinners available with notice featuring local, seasonal produce; served dinner-party style. Single storey and wheelchair accessible, Child-free. Close to several wineries, golf courses and many other Wairarapa attractions. 15 Min drive to Masterton and Carterton and 20 mins to Greytown and Martinborough. Local country inn, 3km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing