We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Luxury!”
Review of The Summit Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Masterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My partner & I were travelling around NZ for 5 weeks and Summit Lodge was the one place that provided everything; despite other good accommodation, none could match the comfort, thoughtfulness for guests to provide everything that was needed for our stay. Excellent food and conversation; hot tub was relaxing after a long drive and the highlight was feeding the Alpacas after breakfast! Only sorry it was for only one night. Tracey & Jim have hit the target with Summit Lodge and would love to see it in a few years when all the plants are well established.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar and choice of double or twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshys48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

thank you so much for your kind words....it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you back in a few years. It is only when we look back at photos that we notice how fast the garden is growing (although to current hot, dry summer has been a challenge for the plants!) Give it another 3 years or so and, no doubt, it will look very different! Oh, and we will have developed the pond area as well as installed the gazebo which will provide a romantic dinner setting. Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just spent a weekend at the Summit Lodge.
We arrived Friday afternoon had an evening meal and picnic lunch Sat and breakfasts Sat/Sun.
The stay was excellent in every respect and in particular the food was the best we have had anywhere in the world. The local wines were great and very well priced. The meals were prepared by the host Tracy and they could not have been better mostly homegrown or local fresh food.
The Summit is in a quiet and peaceful setting with all facilities one needs for a peaceful time and we spent Sat at Castelpoint at the beach horseraces which was a great day out. Would thoroughly recommend The Summit to anyone wanting a quiet time away. The local town of Greytown is well worth some shopping time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JATWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback - we are so pleased you enjoyed the meals and your stay. Jim and I both love cooking and it is great to know that it is appreciated. The local produce is extremely good and finding recipes that do it justice is one of the joys of hosting...clean plates are another very satisfying result! Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at The Summit Lodge for a getaway in the Wairarapa region. We could not have been more thrilled with our stay. After spending time in a variety of spots in the Wairarapa, The Summit was far and away the most beautiful spot to relax for a few days. The grounds and lodging are simply spectacular. Better yet, Tracey and Jim were absolutely fantastic hosts. Their wonderful personalities (and their amazing home cooked breakfasts) made us feel right at home. Only a short drive from all of the major towns in the Wairarapa (Martinborough, Masterton, etc.), I would highly recommend The Summit to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you Scott and Pammy - we are so pleased you love the place as much as we do! We feel priveleged to live in such a beautiful area and we love sharing it with our guests...hope to see you back here sometime
Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As soon as you drive up the driveway you know you are in for a great stay! The rooms are very comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Your wonderful hosts just think of everything and are brilliant! The breakfast..... mmm! It set us up for the day and had lovely home made jams etc. There was four of us on our stay and we all will certainly be back! If you want an exceptional getaway.... The Summit Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

thank you so much Shelley - we very much enjoyed meeting you all - see you next time

Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently had a wedding of our close friends to attend in Carterton over the weekend, and our stay out here was amazing. Tracey dropped us off to the wedding and organised our taxi back to the lodge after the reception. She was an excellent host, cooked an amazing breakfast and made sure we were well informed of the available attractions, wineries and points of interest in the area.
It was an enjoyable experience and our room was perfect. Thanks for an amazing weekend.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are perfect, and the spa pool under the stars is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dentistdavemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

thank you so much for your kind words, and yes, the spa is pretty amazing (especially when the sky is clear - so many stars). Next time, stay longer and check out some of the beautiful walks in the 'rapa or check out the wonderful local wineries
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Summit Lodge and we had an outstanding weekend. Jim and Tracy are excellent hosts both very comfortable in the kitchen turning out great food. The rooms are very comfortable and warm with high standards of fittings and the big TV / surround sound system in the lounge is impressive for watching a movie from the extensive DVD collection. Highly recommended for a quiet weekend away in the lap of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, it was wonderful to help you celebrate your anniversary. Here's to many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at the Summit Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. What we particularly appreciated was that all the details were great. For example, beds, linen (very generous and fluffy towels!), leather recliners in a lovely lounge with an open fire and a large selection of movies. Our hosts Jim and Tracy were attentive without being intrusive - and they're extremely good cooks. We'd recommend it highly. On our last morning, we even helped feed the alpacas!

Room Tip: All three rooms were of similar quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMoHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your review - we hope to see you back again soon!
Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
12.7 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
8.8 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
8.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
67 reviews
8.7 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
79 reviews
9.3 mi away
Colonial Cottage Motel
Colonial Cottage Motel
#10 of 11 in Masterton
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Lodge

Address: 4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Masterton
Price Range: $211 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summit Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge, Gladstone provides 5-star, peaceful, quiet accommodation for a maximum of 6 guests in a private wing of the lodge. Each guest room has ensuite facilities and a private patio as well as heat pump/air con. A large lounge is available exclusively for guest use and the Lodge offers wifi access throughout. Beautiful views of farmland and rolling hills, alpacas to meet and feed and range of cats as well as a Labrador dog. Cooked and continental breakfast options with home baked bread, home toasted muesli, fresh fruit, espresso coffee/teas, free range eggs and locally cured bacon. Dinners available with notice featuring local, seasonal produce; served dinner-party style. Single storey and wheelchair accessible, Child-free. Close to several wineries, golf courses and many other Wairarapa attractions. 15 Min drive to Masterton and Carterton and 20 mins to Greytown and Martinborough. Local country inn, 3km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing