We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and value in Masterton.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Highwayman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highwayman Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and value in Masterton.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wonderful owners who were very accommodating to our needs; they moved us to rooms that were not only better for our group's needs but also cheaper.
Large units with everything a family of six requires: good arrangement of beds, a dining table to seat everyone, sofa space, two bathrooms (unit 22). Carpet could do with a visit from the Rug Doctor but it would not stop us from returning.
The extras in the grounds made the stay more interesting: aviary, chess set, trampoline and outdoor pool.
Located close to supermarkets and eateries we couldn't really ask for more during our stopover.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieHanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We needed a unit with two sleeping spaces. Highwayman provided a good clean room with two single beds in the bedroom and a Queen bed in the lounge area. The unit was clean and sufficient in pretty much every way, and if all you need is a place to sleep and perhaps prepare food, it is fine.

The Kuripuni shops are nearby so fast food and bars are within easy walking distance. It has much going for it. The hosts were friendly and flexible about late checkout. Free WiFi is good though the bandwidth is slow and the reliablity of connection was a bit marginal.

Like many older motels, the interior lighting is dismal, and the decor looks a bit tired.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We usually stay with family in Masterton, but decided this time to stay in a Motel. We chose the Highwayman because we put our wedding guests there 13 years ago and they had a great time. Also, they had room for two adults and three children and a small dog.

We arrived in a roaring storm with thunder and lightening, hail and rain. The registration process took as long as it took to give me a key, and I chose to pay for the night's accommodation then and there.

The room was cold - but there was a good heater to warm it up. The living area is a really good size, and the kitchen well equipped. The bedroom the children stayed in had three single beds - which is a real bonus. The beds were all comfortable, with electric blankets and plenty of extra bedding.

Bathroom is similarly generous in size with a large shower suitable for someone with a wheelchair.

The boys enjoyed a spa, with extra towels provided.

All in all, a great place to stay - very clean and professional. We will be happy to return another time if the family are out of town!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Always excellent friendly service a very family friendly motel recently changed hands but still the same excellent service. The rooms are spacious and very peaceful we always feel very relaxed when we stay. The motel is very close to everything you want. Love the size of the grounds also. All the staff are extra friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Masterton hotels
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.7 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.5 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Cottage Motel
Colonial Cottage Motel
#9 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Motel

Property: Highwayman Motel
Address: 46 High Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highwayman Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Highwayman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing