We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home From Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room with two sofas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with two sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Living room with two sofas
Sit and relax with a glass of wine
Well stocked fishing lake, with picnic tables
Near Bettys tea rooms
York minster
York minster
Railway museum
Inside York minster
Lots of wildlife around the lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Strensall, York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lorrainet...
East Linton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home From Home”
Reviewed August 3, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a wonderful time staying in this wonderful lodge. It is very modern, spacious and very comfortable, with everything you can think of supplied. We were fortunate to have enjoyed the glorious sunshine whilst sitting out on the fabulous decking. We ate our breakfast outside and would sit out in the evenings after our busy days out and about. Debbie had supplied a lovely hamper for us which was a really nice treat. We travelled into York most days and took the car to the bus stop which was about 2 mins drive away, the park is situated off a main road and wasn't, suitable for walking into Strensall especially as two of our party are in their 80's. The bus service was brilliant; on time, regular and only about 35 mins to get to York. We never travel by bus and couldn't believe that it only costs £10 for a family ticket which enables up to 5 adults to travel into York and back. If you download the app for the bus then it only costs £9. There is loads to do in York and if you take the car there are lots of places to visit in the surrounding area. It has been many years since we were in York and we loved our holiday. York is extremely busy at this time of year and we all agreed that as much as we loved being in York it was wonderful to get back to the peaceful surroundings of the lodge. Would definitely stay at the lodge again if ever back in York.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2018
Thank you Lorraine for your lovely words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much.
Kind regards
Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
1 review
“The location is amazing, perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The lodge situated in a small park surrounded with wildlife just outside Strensall not far from the village . With an outstanding pub "The Ship" where you can get excellent cooked meals. The lodge was spotlessly clean, decorated to a high standard, nicely furnished with all the facilities for a self catering holiday, there was even a cupboard containing books , children games and toys for those rainy days. Although we were not able to take advantage due to the winter weather there was a veranda off the living room for those hot summer evenings. The bed was very comfortable I had my best nights sleep for some time leaving me refreshed in the morning. We will definitely be returning soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2017
Hi Chris
Thank you for your lovely words. I am so glad you enjoyed the lodge so much, and look forward to having you back in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoopergo...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great accommodation 5* and peaceful location”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Short break over half term with the family.
Lodge was the best we have stayed in and have had a few self catering breaks over the years, clean and tidy in a beautiful setting.
Loads to do all close by and wish we had longer to stay.
Would certainly recommend to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Hi Tim
Thank you so much for your lovely words. You must come back again in the future to have more time to see and do all the things near by.
Kind regards
Debbie and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris m
1 review
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Booked in order to visit our 1st year student son at York. Accommodation was faultless, much better than we expected. Enjoyed a very full day in York (not enough) and another good day at Castle Howard. Had an excellent meal and the very friendly Ship inn in Strensall. Thanks very much

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2017
Hi Chris
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed it so much. We love going to the Ship Inn. Your probably met my niece who is a waitress there. you are welcome back anytime.
Kind regards
Debbie and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasttldan...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, clean and peaceful.”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A peaceful, beautifully appointed lodge. The welcome basket was a lovely surprise and well received after a long journey.

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights for my mum’s 60th. We couldn’t have asked for a nicer place to stay. Lovely owners who clearly love the area. Would recommend over a hotel any day.
Daniel M - Berkshire

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Hi Daniel
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed it so much. Hope to have you back in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy N
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and perfect”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is the perfect place to go and unwind or do some sightseeing in York since it is so close. So much to do during the day and come back to a cozy cottage that has everything you need. All you need to bring is your clothes and you are set. The quiet surroundings make this a relaxing and enjoyable place to come get away from the busy city.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Thank you Kathryn for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed it. You are welcome back any time.
Kind regards
Debbie and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B
2 reviews
“So Tranquil”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was a beautifully presented lodge, everything we needed was top hand, it really was a home away from home. Perfectly located and within easy driving distance of many attractions. Nice that there was 2 pubs a Tesco and a drug store all within 5 minutes drive. Would recommend this to anybody and I would ber more than happy to book this lodge again at a later date.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Hi Kathryn
Thank you for your lovely review, hope to have you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing