We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Carnaby Cascade - Lounge Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carnaby Cascade - Lounge Area
Alternative units available Typical Caravan Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Carnaby Cascade - Lounge Area
Alternative units available
Typical Caravan Kitchen
Typical Caravan Main Bedroom
Typical Twin Bedroom
Robin Hood Caravan Park
Childrens Play Area
Meet the Team
More of the park
More of the park
York
York City Walls and Minster
Only a few miles from Castle Howard
Majestic Castle Howard just minutes away....
The coastal resorts of Scarborough and Filey are a nice day out
A short drive from the glorious North York Moors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Slingsby, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
filey20
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Yet another amazing stay at Robin Hood caravan park, this is my favourite place in Yorkshire! We love staying in hotels however this caravan park and standard of caravan make the stay as good if not better than a hotel stay! It is set in a beautiful village so peaceful, quaint, and Yorkshire at its best! The caravans are always immaculately clean with all mod cons at hand!! They are very modern and the latest models no old fashioned caravaning you think of when you mention caravan! The site is so well kept and clean and not overcrowded like some sites are! The owners cannot do enough for you nothing is to much trouble. There is a local village pub the grapes in which has amazing food and drink!!! You can access lots of places from this caravan site which makes it so handy especially for weekend breaks or holidays! It is very close to castle Howard which is lovely and worth a visit and not far from coastal towns! I think this caravan site is a hidden gem and would recommend to anyone. We have stayed here now numerous times now and love each visit! If you are looking for a beautiful part of Yorkshire and local pub etc this is the place! Thanks once again for great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay - it is very much appreciated. We are glad to hear that, once again, you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you rent a caravan and go with no expectations you will still be disappointed”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

A well kept tidy place, good first impression,but it went down hill rapidly as soon as I entered the caravan

Rented through Hoseasons, and the company clearly doesn't check its accommodation on a regular basis

Caravan 22... Pet friendly Dovedale Caravan

Hole in the wall was the first thing I saw, and that set the tone. Very poor facilities..fridge shelves broken so couldn't actually keep milk in it..poorly equipped for self catering..can opener didn't work, potato peeler didn't work, no cleaning equipment at all, no toilet roll, no bin bags,no way to keep shelves or carpets clean at all. Coffee table was a health and after linility, about to collapse. TV had built in DVD player which didn't work, and TV had volume limit on it which meant it was almost impossible to watch

And when you could watch it there was no BBC Channels and only some of the other free view channels

Pillows were yellow stained, mattresses had yellow stains and hairs

Tried complaining to reception but they were never there, and not at their house either..no way of complaining

Left the holiday half way through...the worst holiday of my life

Now complaint to Hoseasons...they don't appear to care about their customer experience,but I'm giving them a chance to respond

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The caravan was filthy
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
I am very sorry that this guest was unable to discuss his complaints with members of staff during his stay. As resident owners we live on the park and are available to guests 24/7. A contact mobile number is also available in our welcome guides and via Hoseasons giving guests the opportunity to contact us at any time of day or night.

Had we been given the opportunity to look at the alleged problems I am sure that we would have been able to rectify them. Sadly we were not given the opportunity to do so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thearcher...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely family site”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in our tourer at the beginning of August for 7 nights. Having stayed before we knew to find our pitch first. We did get an email the day before to tell us where we were and lots of info. even got a brief weather report. We just love this site. The toilet/shower block is very clean, as is the whole site. Well maintained throughout. We stayed on a serviced hard standing at the bottom and we were amazed at the changes there. Fewer pitches, more spaced out, nice and flat, gorgeous! The site is very well equipped. If I had one bugbear (and it is a tiny one) there could be more shower cubicles, esp in the ladies, but it's neither here nor there. From the day we arrived our 9year old went off on his bike and made loads of friends, he insists we come back next year, so it looks like we may be regulars, if you'll have us of course... The village is less than 5 min walk and the pub there (the grapes) serves fantastic food, do book first though as it gets very busy. Castle Howard is a 10 min drive and York is 30 mins. We used the park and ride, which worked very well. Well done Robin Hood, you've got a fab family environment there, keep it up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review the park. Always lovely to hear that kids have enjoyed their time with us just as much as the adults. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely for tents too..”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed recently with a tent, no electric and met other family members.
The pitch is lovely and flat with a lot of freedom where you want to pitch and plenty of space. There is a small park for the children to play on which our children loved.
No problems booking online with a fast confirmation, also an easy check in on arrival. There is also an on site shop.
Great location for visiting Yorkshire.
The shower block and toilets are clean and good
My only gripe would be that the water at the sink in the bathroom was extremely extremely hot straight away with no warning notice and I really burnt my hand quite badly (it was ok after running under cold water but took a long time). I was glad it was me and not my young daughter.
Also the toilets are quite far from the non electric tent pitch, doesn't feel to bad during the day but in the middle of the night..... Feels like miles..
Will definitely stay again though.. Looking forward to next time already

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Many thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on the park and look forward to welcoming you again soon

(Camping)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaz B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stay at Robin Hood Caravan and campsite about 3 times a year. We go with tent, sometimes with electric sometimes not. We find the amenities very clean, shower block toilets and pot wash area's. The staff are very helpful and polite, the park area is ample for the grandchildren they love it. We keep going back well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Many thanks for reviewing the park. Always a delight to have you and your family staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I spent 4 nights at the Robin Hood with my wife and my son and daughter in law stayed in a separate caravan. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is the place to come. The camp provides for camping and travelling caravans as well as having a number of static caravans. Ours were clean and quite comfortable but visitors should be aware that they are not all equipped to the same standard ( ours had no shaver point or toaster ). I did ask for a toaster but it didn't materialise and since we were only there for a few days I didn't follow it up although using the grill is a bit fiddly. It's a quiet camp but it does have a good playground for the kids and a small shop for essentials (it didn't stock milk though due to lack of demand. This doesn't present too much of a problem since the village shop is close by. The facilities for the campers, toilet /laundry blocks etc looked pretty good. Mobile reception is very poor and the park landline was out of order during our stay. Wifi can be purchased and this cost me £16 for 4 days. Both of our caravans had issues with the heating/hot water on the last day but the Robin Hood still offers good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: living room in caravan
Liked least: vero mobile reception and broken landline
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review the park. I'm sorry that you felt that your caravan wasn't as well equipped as your sons. All our caravans are manufactured by different companies which is why you may find that facilities eg. shaver points/lighting differ between caravans particularly in this case where one was three bedroom and the other two and where one is deluxe and the other standard.

We appreciate all your comments and thank you for visiting us for the second year in succession. Hope to see you again soon

(Caravan Hire)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspector...
in a room
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty caravan, pleasant park.”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Robin Hood Caravan Park in one of the static caravans during the month of April. We opted for the standard caravan so that we could take our small dog away with us.

Positives:
- The park is very pleasant with a small play park for children.
- On site shop and amenities.
- Relatively well kept grounds.
- Easy access to nearby attractions.

Negatives:
- Upon arrival the was a leaving water pipe outside of our caravan. The water beneath this was stagnant and therefore must have been there for some time.
- The caravan was in particularly poor condition with regard to cleanliness. Cobwebs were hanging from the lights. Thick dust near skirting boards. The cutlery drawer had hair inside it - we washed all cutlery and plates just after we arrived. The oven door was thick with cooking remnants. Oven tray still had food within it. Carpeted areas were thick with hair. The bed linen had no protectors and the bedding has an unwashed odour. The were hairs in the bed linen.

Now before the owner replies explaining that the caravan was a standard and was therefore open to pets, the standard of the cleanliness was extremely poor - the carpets must never get cleaned or hoovered.

It is important to note that we made our feelings clear to the owners on the second day and asked for the caravan to be re-serviced. This happened later in the morning when we were out on a day trip. Upon return, it was clear that there had been some attention to the caravan BUT the standard was still extremely poor. The carpet was still terribly unclean, there were still cobwebs hanging from the lights and there were no protectors on the bedding (though it had been changed). The water leak had been fixed and our children no longer had to be guided to the front door.

One final addition is that we did not use the shop on site as it was also unclean - thick dust underneath the counter, which gave us little faith in the cleanliness of the other aspects of the shop.

If you are looking for a break and you want a nice setting, then the Robin Hood Park is fine - as long as you come in your own caravan.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
At Robin Hood Caravan Park we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the caravans and our facilities and I am sorry that the cleaners responsible for this particular caravan fell short of the standards in place. In the two months between your stay/review we have changed cleaners and assure you that the staff responsible for this caravan no longer work for the park.

(Caravan Hire)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing