We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Carnaby Cascade - Lounge Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carnaby Cascade - Lounge Area
Alternative units available Typical Caravan Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Carnaby Cascade - Lounge Area
Alternative units available
Typical Caravan Kitchen
Typical Caravan Main Bedroom
Typical Twin Bedroom
Robin Hood Caravan Park
Childrens Play Area
Meet the Team
More of the park
More of the park
York
York City Walls and Minster
Only a few miles from Castle Howard
Majestic Castle Howard just minutes away....
The coastal resorts of Scarborough and Filey are a nice day out
A short drive from the glorious North York Moors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Slingsby, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela A
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 2 nights when travelling to Filey, we love York and planned to go there for the day. When we arrived on the camp site there were no signs to tell us where to go so we continued round the site with our caravan on the back. We arrived at reception and they girl there said we had to go back to the touring pitches. We struggled with our large caravan to get it round the statics to where we needed to go. If there had been a sign to say park here and walk to the reception I would have done that and it would have been a lot easier for us. We had a lovely stay and the campsite is beautiful with lots of birds and very large trees. The only thing that was wrong for me was the toilets were dusty in lots of places. On top of the toilets, on the shelves and the top of the roll holders. This means to me they are not cleaned properly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Wide open spaces
Liked least: no signs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review the park. We appreciate all the comments that you have made and will learn from them. However, we do feel an opportunity was missed to discuss them in person as you failed to mention any of the issues with cleanliness whilst you were here. We would certainly appreciate knowing which shelves you felt were dusty since we do not have shelves within our shower block facilities.

With regards the issues you had on arrival, our records show that an email was sent to you 48 hours ahead of your arrival date with your pitch number clearly shown. Its a shame that you didn't read this ahead of your arrival as this would have alleviated the problems mentioned above.

Thank you

(Touring Caravan)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny T
Howden, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely site”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed on this site in our trailer tent for 5 nights over the Easter holidays with our 3 children, aged 14, 11 and 7. We missed the Easter weekend rush so the site was very quiet. On the whole, this is a lovely site, beautifully maintained and the electric pitches are very spacious. The site was clean. The play area clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The negatives for us were the shower/toilet/dish washing block was a few minute walk from the touring pitches, right next to the static caravans. Not so bad if you're in a caravan, but for those in tents and especially with small children, this is not ideal. At night it was a very dark walk, and not great to take pots for washing up! Also, there were only 2 showers in the ladies block. fine for us as it was a very quiet site when we stayed, but during summer or busy weekends this would prove to be an issue with people queuing for showers. All that said, it is a lovely site. The children spent plenty of time in the play area, which was visible from our tent and there was plenty of space for playing. The pub in the village "The Grapes" is very welcoming and serves lovely food, but booking is advisable, it was busy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The location was great for exploring North Yorkshire.
Liked least: Distance from facilities
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
Many thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you point out our tent pitches are a 2-5 minute walk away from the shower block and this is one of the reasons we allow our campers to chose their own pitches. Guests can decide how far they want to be away. The shower facilities are open 24 hours a day so guests can shower at anytime they like which we find prevents queues on busy weekends.

Thank you again for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

(camping)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

we stayed easter weekend in our folding camper with 2 grandchildren and a dog, this site is amazing you have everything for a really relaxing time,play area for the kids field for the dog to run in and on site shop that sells all you will need. the toilets and showers were spotless the owners cleaned them 2 or 3 times a day ,plenty of hot water to what more could you ask for :) :) would recommend this site to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review the park. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

(Camping)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Owl-tastic!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We camped here over the Easter bank holiday weekend and had a fantastic camping experience. It's a really well laid out site with plenty of room and spacious pitches. We requested a pitch with electric hook up and and were amongst some trailer tents and caravans but there was so much room that we didn't feel inferior like we have done on some other caravan/camping sites. The facilities were great, with a well stocked on site shop, reasonable pot washing (with supplied washing up liquid!) and it's worth mentioning just how clean the toilets and showers were. The site is situated in a very picturesque little Yorkshire village with loads of wildlife and we were serenaded each night by the local owl populus which just added to the overall ambience. The owners were very nice and helpful and always seemed to be on hand, busy keeping the place clean and tidy. In all the site is a real credit to the owners and we were so impressed we booked for the next bank holiday in May as a base to see the Tour de Yorkshire.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
Many thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on the park and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

(Camping)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I have just got back from a week at this caravan park. It is so peaceful and relaxing and the only noise is the sound of the birds singing. The caravan we stayed in was comfortable and clean, it can only be two or three years old and everything we needed was there. The people who run the site are really nice and very hard working. This was the second time we have stayed at this site and we will be booking for later in the year as soon we have checked our calendars.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2015
Many thanks for a great review. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for travelling with dogs.”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely park, very peaceful, clean and tidy. The caravan was well equipted, warm (full central heating!!!!) and a shower that had lots of power. Hard standing parking by the caravan,
and patio furniture provided aswell.

Excellent location for York, the Moors and the coast. Castle Howard and Eden Camp are a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful park
Liked least: No negatives.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisybho...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Gem of a location very quiet and peaceful but within easy reach of nearby towns.
We had a 4 day short break which we found to be perfect for what we were looking for, quiet peaceful relaxing time.
The 2 bedroom caravan we stayed in was perfect with everything you require, only downside we found was the exterior was very unclean with dirty windows cobwebs bird droppings etc, expected because of the location but would not take much to make it shine.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing