We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boton d'Or(La Thuile)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nira Montana(La Thuile)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chalet Eden(La Thuile)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Martinet(La Thuile)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Universo(Pre-Saint-Didier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
124
298
198
68
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
298
198
68
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat positionbreakfast and dinnerself cateringpasta disheslocation location locationplenty of hot watergreat holidayfeb half termmain barski locker roomchair liftbuffet stylemain gondolabar areapizzapiste bashersboiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 753 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Planibel for February half-term skiing for the last ten years as the varied slopes at La Thuile and the excellent ski instructors catered for our family as we progressed over the years from beginners to advanced skiers. The hotel's plus point is that it is just opposite the slopes and adjacent to the gondola, ski school and hire shops, has an indoor pool (open late pm) and a good supermarket on site. However, if you are looking for lush, cosy surroundings, spas, opulant facilities furnished with fluffy white towels to relax you after a day on the slopes then sadly the Planibel with its more basic amenities is not for you. Think basic beds, tv with very few English tv channels, wi if in some rooms (for fees), adequate toiletries and 'other people's' children endlessly running up and down the lobbies and playing in the lifts until late (earplugs essential!).

The meals are buffet with breakfasts ample choices, dinners good if you like antipasti (rarely hot potatoes/veg available) or pasta in various forms....occasional 'aosta' nights bring about a change to the standard fayre with the pudding station always proving a winner!

Would we go again, yes despite dinners not entirely to our liking, hotel staff will always aim to resolve queries (though doubt you will come away remembering their names for 'memorable holiday experience') and facilities basic - point of skiing so close to hotel without any long walks uphill from village or overcrowded buses outweigh negatives, oh and don't forget the earplugs!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lifts as this may reduce the children running past your door. Roadside rooms have early morning noise from deliveries etc. but the slope side rooms have noisy bars below at nights.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheUKChapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very good, multilingual staff,Easy access to slopes of all difficulties. You can ski into the hotel as it is open and across the road from the ski park and the chaz dura area. It is also conveniently next to a hospital. While I am on the subject, 2 of my friends were injured on the mountain.They were both attended to in a flash. The grounds of the Planibel include a suvenior shop, numerous italians and breakfast shops, a underground (Warm!) swimming pool, a supermarket, an underground arcade (so the people cannot hear them from their hotel rooms), and a art gallery. So, I reccomend the hotel and the scenery on top of the mountains is breathtaking. Instructors will also insure new snowboarders or skiiers will be mountain fit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are ideal for better balconies and you DONT WANT A ROOM HIGH UP. The elevators are fine but you never know.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Planibel Hotel is a fantastic location for the ski slopes 3 lifts within a few seconds walk of the the hotel.
Check in was good €5 for a ski locker which you get back at end of week,. We had room 414 facing the road, it was clean, as was the bathroom, it had to be or my wife would not have set foot in it. Big family room with seperate room for our 5 year old , plenty of space and a fridge, in fact the room is very similar to the picture in the crystal broucher.
Food was ok plenty of it but do not read the menu, just choose what you want to eat, lots of salad, pasta, and two other meat dishes and the lay out is a bit disjointed. Hotel was full with Ski Teams from Germany, Norway, Austria,Russia, Solvakia, Italy etc. Hotel Bar not the best and a bit expensive €7 for a glass of wine but only €5 in restuarant, but restaurant add this to your room bill, you cant pay in restaurant
Hotel was hot, but we had expectional hot sunny weather, which may explain it.
My son enjoyed the swimming pool, which is free, but you must have a swimming cap
This is a complex hotel lots of floors with 4 lifts to each, ski locker is another floor down from check in and then a lift or 4 flights of stairs to ground level, wait for the lift!
There are bars, take away food outlet, shops, supermarket, games room and restaurants all around the hotel and the old town is just a short walk away, overall it comes in just above average. No real complaints and we enjoyed our stay and the skiing etc, but if I had paid more for the stay I would expect more, hence the average or just above review

Room Tip: We had corner famaily room on 4th floor facing road
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkiBlue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Recently arrived back from skiing in La thuile (Feb 2012) having stayed at the Planibel Apartments.

The apartment itself was a bit shabby and dated and consisted of 2 bedrooms and a spacious communal area with dining table, small TV (only Italian channels except BBC news), and small kitchen (with 2 hobs, microwave, kettle and fridge), plus a small room to store your ski gear. There were 2 bathrooms, but the baths didn't look particularly clean and had a strange, rough surface which felt a bit slimy and unpleasant. The beds were comfortable enough and I slept well every night.

One thing I wasn't happy about was the cleaner hammering on my door at 9.30 in the morning insisting she was coming in and cleaning the room and wouldn't go away until she did!

The Planibel resort itself was great and was like a large holiday complex with ski shops, takeaway, 2 pubs, cafe, supermarket, deli, swimming pool, restaurant, etc. The bars were reasonably priced and the food in the restaurant was great - also reasonably priced - with excellent, friendly service.

Chair lifts and a cable car run from directly outside the complex taking you to some great runs for all levels of skier. It's worth noting that the easy blue runs are further up the mountain and that the only way back down is via red and black runs unless you take the cable car back down - I advise you get hold of a piste map!

La Thuile village is small and pretty with some nice boutique shops for souvenirs, a couple of restaurants, and a chocolate shop/cafe which is well worth a visit.

Despite the tired looking rooms I had a great time here and enjoyed some fantastic skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marmalizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

4* hotel, actually 3* star.
Loacation is excellent, just beside the slopes and lifts. LaThuile village have 700 inhabitants permanently, but 12 000 beds. Talked in sauna with english guy.
Our room was at hotel side, 3 person room, at 6th floor. Room was quite spacious, but we were suffering of room temperature, it was about 18-20 near by window. I told this to reception but nothing happened. So, we took extra blankets to have us warm at night.
Water pressure of shower was weak, it was okay in sauna department (first floor). The Hotel building seems to be old and need some renovation and elevators were confusing: doors were closed quickly, is elevator going up or down?
Two times I had to request towel after cleaning, because we were 3 person not 2. This should not happen, if they will be 4*.

Room Tip: Rooms to the village side seems to be less noisy (opposite as slopes)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews