We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room!”
Review of Hotel Boton d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boton d'Or
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing room!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A perfect location for the ski lift, only a few minutes walk, and right next door to a lovely restaurant! We booked a family duplex room for 4 sharing adults, and were very pleasantly surprised by the size, two bathrooms, two floors and a lovely balcony with views over the mountain. Excellent service, a very good wellness suite downstairs, and great free nibbles at wine o'clock! The only downside was breakfast, poor choice, not very fresh and overall very disappointing considering the rest of the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoVDorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We returned to Boton d'Or for a second family ski holiday over Xmas and New year. Again we had a fantastic stay. The hotel really is exceptional, topped only by the staff who really go out of their way to look after you and make sure that you have the best holiday possible. To John and the staff at Boton d'Or, thank you again for making our holiday so special - you guys are fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 622Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one week stay at the Boton d'or for our family ski trip.. First time in this hotel, and will definitely return... The hotel is beautifully designed, and extremely comfortable...loads of space in our family suite for us and our 2 children.... The beds are super comfortable, and we made full use of the hotel jacuzzis.. Breakfasts were lovely, with a wide variety to suit children and adults, and the staff were so welcoming. The lounge area is very relaxing, and lovely snacks are set out every evening for free. The free wifi didn't really reach to our room, but we were happy to sit in the lounge to get access there. The ski room was excellent for storing and drying all your kit very evening, and the 5 minute walk to the ski school was the same distance as from the Planibel Apartments we had previously stayed in. The Boton d'or is definitely our preferred choice now though for accommodation, and we will be sure to return next time.. La Thuile is so perfect for children and intermediate skiers like us... Can't wait for next year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just got back from our ski trip to La Thuile. Previously stayed at the Planibel apartments however thought we would give this hotel a try. What a good decision, Ideally located close to the gondola and a short walk to the village centre, a very warm welcome from John and his team, a cosy warm and very clean bedroom, a beautiful and relaxing lounge area where we felt totally at home with a glass of local wine and complimentary canapés each evening, in the mornings we enjoyed a great breakfast buffet with plenty of continental choice and great coffee. We used the spa each evening where we were basically the only people there enjoying the jacuzzi, sauna and relaxation room which were all appreciated after a hard day on the slopes.
Nothing was ever too much trouble, customer satisfaction was obviously very high on John and his teams priorities. A big thank you and we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent 7 nights at this hotel during Christmas and new year holiday and we could not be happier. The rooms were very charming and comfortable. The staff was fantastic. Great location to skiing and spend quality time with the family.

Room Tip: The suites are a great value for the space and a good option for a family of two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a ski vacation a week at the start of the year.
Walking distance away from the lifts.
Nice, friendly staff.
Magnetic keys will open the door from a 5th try.
Walls are so thin that you can actually participate in your neighbors' conversations.
The hotel doesn't own a kitchen, which is odd, but nonetheless, hence selection of food available for breakfast is rather poor. Some catered from outside fried hams, stripes of dry omelets and sausage, tired looking bananas, some basic pastry and cold cuts. Needs major improvement here.
Rooms are clean.
Bed mattresses are firm.
Showers are recently upgraded.
Ok for a one off. Not fantastic. You'd want to shop around for your next visit.
Could easily be fixed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tabuleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just back from a week at Boton d'Or. The staff is absolutely excellent and did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and welcome. With a very personal touch. The hotel is very close to the slopes (very large resort, you never ski on the same place) at a nice 10 minutes walk from the village centre. The Spa is excellent, clean and not very busy (you will need to book it in advance). The rooms are modern and roomy enough. Breakfast is also good (try the home made cakes). A wonderful hotel in a typical Italian ski resort

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 770NicolaItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Thuile
0.2 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
0.1 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#4 of 10 in La Thuile
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments
6.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Blanc
Hotel Chateau Blanc
#8 of 10 in La Thuile
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boton d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boton d'Or

Property: Hotel Boton d'Or
Address: Fraz. Villaret n.71, La Thuile, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boton d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boton d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing