We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Ski Holliday”
Review of Hotel Boton d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boton d'Or
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We returned to Boton d'Or for a second family ski holiday over Xmas and New year. Again we had a fantastic stay. The hotel really is exceptional, topped only by the staff who really go out of their way to look after you and make sure that you have the best holiday possible. To John and the staff at Boton d'Or, thank you again for making our holiday so special - you guys are fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 622Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boton d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 190 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from a one week stay at the Boton d'or for our family ski trip.. First time in this hotel, and will definitely return... The hotel is beautifully designed, and extremely comfortable...loads of space in our family suite for us and our 2 children.... The beds are super comfortable, and we made full use of the hotel jacuzzis.. Breakfasts were lovely, with a wide variety to suit children and adults, and the staff were so welcoming. The lounge area is very relaxing, and lovely snacks are set out every evening for free. The free wifi didn't really reach to our room, but we were happy to sit in the lounge to get access there. The ski room was excellent for storing and drying all your kit very evening, and the 5 minute walk to the ski school was the same distance as from the Planibel Apartments we had previously stayed in. The Boton d'or is definitely our preferred choice now though for accommodation, and we will be sure to return next time.. La Thuile is so perfect for children and intermediate skiers like us... Can't wait for next year!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just got back from our ski trip to La Thuile. Previously stayed at the Planibel apartments however thought we would give this hotel a try. What a good decision, Ideally located close to the gondola and a short walk to the village centre, a very warm welcome from John and his team, a cosy warm and very clean bedroom, a beautiful and relaxing lounge area where we felt totally at home with a glass of local wine and complimentary canapés each evening, in the mornings we enjoyed a great breakfast buffet with plenty of continental choice and great coffee. We used the spa each evening where we were basically the only people there enjoying the jacuzzi, sauna and relaxation room which were all appreciated after a hard day on the slopes.
Nothing was ever too much trouble, customer satisfaction was obviously very high on John and his teams priorities. A big thank you and we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent 7 nights at this hotel during Christmas and new year holiday and we could not be happier. The rooms were very charming and comfortable. The staff was fantastic. Great location to skiing and spend quality time with the family.

Room Tip: The suites are a great value for the space and a good option for a family of two.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a ski vacation a week at the start of the year.
Walking distance away from the lifts.
Nice, friendly staff.
Magnetic keys will open the door from a 5th try.
Walls are so thin that you can actually participate in your neighbors' conversations.
The hotel doesn't own a kitchen, which is odd, but nonetheless, hence selection of food available for breakfast is rather poor. Some catered from outside fried hams, stripes of dry omelets and sausage, tired looking bananas, some basic pastry and cold cuts. Needs major improvement here.
Rooms are clean.
Bed mattresses are firm.
Showers are recently upgraded.
Ok for a one off. Not fantastic. You'd want to shop around for your next visit.
Could easily be fixed.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Tabuleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just back from a week at Boton d'Or. The staff is absolutely excellent and did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and welcome. With a very personal touch. The hotel is very close to the slopes (very large resort, you never ski on the same place) at a nice 10 minutes walk from the village centre. The Spa is excellent, clean and not very busy (you will need to book it in advance). The rooms are modern and roomy enough. Breakfast is also good (try the home made cakes). A wonderful hotel in a typical Italian ski resort

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 770NicolaItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. I struggle to find anything bad to say about it.

What really makes them exceptional is the superb service. As soon as we arrived we were given a tour of the facilities of the hotel, which is a nice way to feel welcome and start to settle in. One of our rooms was exceptionally hot, so the first night we had to open the windows (in December) to make the temperature bearable. This seems to be a very common problem in ski hotels during winter, but when John, the manager, asked me the following morning if everything was okay I mentioned it just in case and he was instantly dealing with the issue. After several hours of work, the engineer replaced the thermostat unit and we had proper control of the temperature.

Another example is that, at breakfast on the first day, we asked whether ketchup was available (to go with the bacon, sausage and omelette) and were told very apologetically that it was not, but then the lady who looks after the breakfast room had a quick word with her colleague and asked us to wait a couple of minutes, so we assumed there was some available in a storeroom. However, a couple of minutes later the colleague reappeared and had apparently rushed out to the nearest shop to buy ketchup specially and had brought some mayonnaise as well, just in case! Every morning, we were offered the ketchup bottle as soon as we appeared. And on the last morning our bottle was running out so a fresh bottle appeared. A tiny gesture in one way, but not one in a hundred hotels would have had staff who would have gone to the bother of doing this.

We were there from 21 December to 28 December and the hotel was extremely quiet until about 26 December. The resort as a whole was the same, very quiet until Christmas itself was over, when there was a noticeable influx of Italians, although still very quiet compared to most ski resorts during holiday season. Even after the hotel had become "busy", we still had the wellness area (two Jacuzzis and two saunas) to ourselves at 6 PM every evening.

The location is extremely good for skiing. Other than the soulless hotel complex right beside the ski gondola, this hotel is the closest to the lifts and is no more than a few hundred metres away. At the same time, it is just far enough away to feel peaceful and calm, nestled between trees and a picnic area. Very quiet at night other than a couple of early morning disturbances from snowploughs on the road outside, which can't be helped.

Breakfast was very good, including hot bacon, omelette slices and tiny sausages.

The rooms were extremely nice and the beds very comfortable.

If we return to this resort, we will certainly be booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Thuile
0.2 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#5 of 10 in La Thuile
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Blanc
Hotel Chateau Blanc
#8 of 10 in La Thuile
74 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boton d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boton d'Or

Address: Fraz. Villaret n.71, La Thuile, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Price Range: $115 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boton d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boton d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing