We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hotel Boton d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boton d'Or
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just back from Italy . Stayed in this fantastic hotel in la thuile. Everything about it oozes quality, from the rooms to the lovely wellness centre. The paintings on the walls give the hotel a charming feel . John and his team made us feel very welcome in the 3 nights we stayed. Nothing is too much trouble. The bar area is welcoming and the selection of nibbles in the evening, that are free when you buy a drink, tasty! Don't worry about the fact it's just b& b as there are lots of restaurants nearby. We will be back ....thanks to all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieb2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 5 nights here recently and everything was great. The hotel was clean, warm, modern, efficient, perfect location for the lifts. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially John, who has a great sense of humour! There was an extensive choice at breakfast and we loved the relaxation zone and jacuzzis after a hard days skiing! The reception lounge area was lovely for meeting up with our friends and playing cards after a night out. If you buy a drink from the bar there is a great selection of nibbles to tuck into. Great value and a nice touch. Thank you all, we had a fantastic time n La Thuile and will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back from a weeks family skiing holiday and had the pleasure of staying at the Boton d'Or. The staff simply couldn't do enough to help you. Very friendly staff with the Hotel manager (John) leading by example....The hotel is fairly new and relatively small which allows the staff to give you a real personal touch that makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive....The only slight down side is that the hotel doesn't have any evening dinning facilities but even this has been handled in smart way of having pre dinner drinks with a nice selection on anti pasta style food that you are free to help your self too prior to heading out for dinner.... A real gem of a Hotel that the staff clearly take pride in....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendersons7928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux, France
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had never been to La Thuile before and had no idea what to expect. The Boton d'Or appeared to be one of the nicest (if not the nicest) hotel in the village. An easy walk to the ski lift (less than five minutes even wearing ski boots), it is in a great location.

Best points:
-The rooms are spacious and immaculately presented.
-Bathrooms are larger than normal and lighting is good.
-Beds were very comfortable and sleep quality was excellent. (I find it difficult to sleep anywhere and on our second night's stay, I slept a solid 8 hours which is a rare event!).

All the staff we encountered were professional and friendly.
The spa facility is surprisingly good for a hotel in this price range. Everything spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Breakfast selection was nothing extraordinary but absolutely adequate for the price and the breakfast room is clean and bright.

Our only gripe would be that the showers were very small. Given the size of the bathrooms and the care that has gone into planning the layout etc, the shower was only just big enough - turning around needed some forethought (my husband and I are both of average height and weight). Our 17 year old son is rather taller and broader than my husband and he said it was a bit of a squeeze.

Given the overall quality of this hotel though, I definitely wouldn't let the size of the shower prevent me from booking again! It might just be a consideration if you prefer more space.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the rear of the hotel and it was blissfully quiet - our son was facing the vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have just finished our family Holliday spending 10 days skiiing at Boton d'Or and it has been fantastic. The staff are super-helpful and cannot do enough to help. We stayed in a family suite which was really spacious and comfortable - parents upstairs and kids downstairs. Breakfasts were fine and we enjoyed the lounge - perfect for a couple of drinks and a snack after a days skiing - before moving down to the spa for a sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel is literally an minute or two walk from the main gondola (not quite ski-in/out but the next best thing) and we never queued - not once - the whole 10 days. The skiing was tops - between the la Thuile and la Rosiere (France) with loads of snow and - did I mention - no queueing!!!! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel in March this year, and was very impressed.

The staff (and management) were very friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were always willing to help.

The rooms are fantastic, and the lounge on the ground floor was very warm and inviting.

The spa facility was an absolute bonus, and very welcoming after a day of skiing! The ski room was well organised, with heated boot racks.

Breakfasts were awesome - best inclusive buffet breakfast I have had anywhere in Europe, and the early evening snacks in the lounge were plentiful and delicious.

I can definitely recommend the Boton D'Or for skiers (excellent location) and other visitors.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhbGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Thuile
0.2 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#4 of 10 in La Thuile
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Blanc
Hotel Chateau Blanc
#8 of 10 in La Thuile
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boton d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boton d'Or

Property: Hotel Boton d'Or
Address: Fraz. Villaret n.71, La Thuile, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boton d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boton d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing