We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Coq Maf

Le Coq Maf
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We received excellent service from the friendly and helpful staff.The bar area was very lively which provided a good atmosphere.The steaks are the real stars of this restaurant and were cooked exactly to our liking.We also enjoyed the antipasta.We were not disappointed on our second visit during our week's holiday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    78
    28
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Down to earth excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The steaks were so good we had to return ; even better the second time!
A bar used by many locals as the restaurant is. Not a place for a romantic evening but in terms of a small menu really excellent food with some of the best steaks we have had anywhere.

The restaurant was basic and small however we had booked on both occasions. The level of service could not have been bettered in terms of attentiveness and friendliness. Took trouble to find things out for us help our enjoyment of the occasion.

Really good value and at the end of a days skiing a real gem

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bwg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Steak and fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Small and fun, the bar is always full and the steaks are great - reasonably priced. Top Tip - get a table upstairs where the action is if you want the full experience - downstairs always feels a little lonely and forgotten

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Argillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A GREAT SPOT!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Le Coq Maf is an excellent spot for a drink or a meal.

The bar side is always lively, without ever being rowdy.

The restaurant serves a variety of food, but the steaks are the real highlight of the menu! The steaks come from all around the world, and they are prepared perfectly to your instuructions.

The steaks come sliced on a wooden board, and are perfect to share. Order a couple (of different cuts and origin), and share among the table.

The staff are helpful, friendly and relaxed.

Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JhbGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coq Maf also viewed

La Thuile, Valle d'Aosta
 
La Thuile, Valle d'Aosta
La Thuile, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Le Coq Maf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing