We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost the plot”
Review of Chalet Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Eden
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lost the plot”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I and my friends have been using this hotel for the last 8 years as a base for a long weekend skiing. As each year progressed we felt more uncomfortable and unloved. The hotel is still striving to push up market and if you want a romantic weekend away in the Italian Alps this could be for you. The rooms are good, warm and comfortable, the food is excellent, the wine (if you choose carefuilly) is reasonably priced and very good but there is something not quite right that is difficult to put your finger on.

I will say though that the hotel is perfectly placed for the ski lifts, ski shops and is only a short stroll into the centre of the town.

The hotel bar has never been busy but this year it was completely dead. Could this be because the hotel has taken out the draught beer and now only sell expensive bottled beer? Our consumption certainly dropped this year and we spent a lot more time out of the hotel. This undoubtedly cost the hotel several hundred pounds but we got the feeling that they do not necessarily want people drinking in the bar. Saying that, the hotel also ran out of several of the bottled beers. They just did not carry enough stock.

The hotel is buildnig a spa and once it is finally built at the hotel the prices will increase even more. This year we were quoted €140pppn but this was reduced to €110pppn when the spa wasn't finished.

Sadly the increase in price, the feeling that this year especially we were not "loved" guests and the fact that they have removed the sale of draught beer means that this will be our last visit to this hotel.

This is quite sad for us as we did want to see out 10 years but you just have to accept sometimes that if something isn't right, move on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bggoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    61
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
55
125
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have re-visited this hotel last week 23rd January 2012 and had previously visited two years before.
The staff are always very polite, friendly and very accommodating. The hotel has started its Spa and additional rooms but as yet are not finished (due to current world economic climate!) this does not effect the hotel in any way as the extension is separate at the moment from the main building.
The rooms are very large , which is excellent when you have all your ski gear, they are styled in modern way, but with rustic authentic materials which gives a very nice overall effect. The rooms all have Sky tv. We did suffer on the first two nights with the water not quite hot enough but we mentioned this to Stephano the owner and it was fine for the remainder of the week.
Stephano was also always on hand to give us a lift to the cable car (which is about a 5% minute walk). You can also buy your ski pass from the hotel reception and they can obtain discount for your ski equipment.
The food is very good and the wine list fantastic.
I would recommend this hotel and we will revisit.

Room Tip: The suites and junior suites have a separate sitting area which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelaners11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel is absolutely lovely. Sophisticated bedrooms, with luxurious bathrooms. The food is excellent in fact they have had a mention in the Michelin Guide. Everything is organic including a a lot of the wine list , which is extensive. On the horizon for this year is a new Spa, cant wait so I can return again. I have skied in Europe for over 30 years, and the conditions of the pistes in La Thuile and La Rosier were some of the best yet. The village could do with a little luxury injections for retail therapy but otherwise a great holiday. Location a short walk from the cable car and you can ski back to the hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel at the end July this year. Although usually a winter destination, we spent a really enjoyable 3 days in the region. The hotel was excellent; comfortable, friendly, fabulous food and helpful staff. The price was so good we thought we had been misquoted and checked with reception that we had the right price! Daniella and her team made us very welcome and organised various activities for us. We went up Mont Blanc, horse riding and the children loved the tree top park. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali003London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorgonzola, Italia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed a week end at Chalet Eden. The hotel is fantastic: ancient outside but extremely modern and contemporary inside! Extra clean and extra Bio-organic. The service is one of the best we've ever tasted. Owners are very very kind and warm and the restaurant is a real gourmet one!
We advice this hotel to everybody who are looking for something that can paste the typical valdostaine tradition with the modern design and cousine!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabricami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My family and I have been staying at Chalet Eden, usually for two weeks over Christmas for the last 19 years. Next Christmas (2011) will be the 20 year and the 28th time I have stayed at this hotel. I don't think I could recommend it any higher. In all this time, all I can say is that I have never had better treatment at any other hotel. I cannot rate this hotel higher.
The skiing is out of this world because of the almost guaranteed snow cover with every run covered by snow cannon.
Mountain restaurants are good value and the villagers are always friendly and helpful.
Chalet Eden is a family run hotel that is worthy of five stars. The bedrooms are wonderfully appointed and the staff the most helpful and friendly I have ever met in a hotel.
Stay at this hotel and you will not want for anything during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Sixth visit to Chalet Eden in nine years and the place keeps getting better. The owners have indulged a great amount of time, money and passion in thier property that is one of the best and homeliest hotels in the Alps.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Thuile
0.2 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boton d'Or
Hotel Boton d'Or
#2 of 10 in La Thuile
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Martinet
Hotel Martinet
#3 of 10 in La Thuile
119 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
268 reviews
7.4 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Eden

Property: Chalet Eden
Address: Frazione Villaret 74, 11016 La Thuile, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Thuile
#3 Family Hotel in La Thuile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Eden is a unique place, starting with the reception area.Each environment is an example of style and unmistakable creativity.Each room has differetn character: the furbishing, always unique and of great value, colours and materials chosen with great care and quality fabrics, all give each room its own welcoming and romantic atmosphere.Each room is equipped with tv lcd, minibar, rediffusion, hairdryer, freee internet connection wifi and courtesy products.Lo Chalet Eden è un luogo speciale, dove la ricerca di colori, materiali, tessuti e complementi d'arredo unici dona ad ogni camera un'atmosfera incantevole, intima ed accogliente.Tutte le camere sono dotate di tv lcd con abbonamento sky vision gold, minibar, cassaforte, impianto di filodiffusione direttamente collegabile a dispositivo iPod, asciugacapelli, connessione internet wi-fi gratuita e prodotti di cortesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Chalet Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Eden Hotel La Thuile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing