We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Blanc
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have used this hotel for a group (19 people) skiing trip for the last 2 years. Rooms are well decorated with a nice warm feel-slightly on the small side but manageable. The staff have always been very helpful and pleasant despite some language difficulties. They booked different restaurants for us for each night of our stay and all proved excellent.
Breakfasts were excellent and overall a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 473Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We booked this hotel without having read the accounts on Trip Advisor first. When we did read them, we were concerned that we would be met by indifferent and rude Italian staff, which could not have been further from the truth and we felt compelled to share our experience. Granted, their English is poor (but better than our Italian - and we were in their country after all!) but through a mix of limited understanding and some hand gesturing we coped fine and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a relatively quiet low-key skiing holiday (La Thuile itself doesn't have a buzzing nightlife but there are some decent restauraunts and the slopes were very quiet when we were there - 23rd-27th Feb). The local wine of the Aosta Valley is also worth trying, as is the spa in Pres-St Didier, at which the hotel can organise a discount for guests.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

After all it was pretty nice, although it begun quite badly. We arrived in a snowstorm, and had hard time to find the premises as it is marked poorly. As it was during the day, signs were not lighted. After we got our room, we realized we have to drag our luggage for about 50 meters in a narrow pass in the snow. Finally we were informed that the sauna is broken and repair is pending. We were so furious; we went to look for another place which we found it, but only for the next day. Next morning we told the lady owner we are going to leave, and things started to get moving. Finally we stayed, and enjoyed it pretty much. So now for the good stuff.
Location is great. Couple of minutes walk to the city center, and less then 5 to the gondola. If you leave your ski gear at the rental place at the gondola, walking is pretty nice. There is also a ski bus stop, one close to the hotel. You can park your car at the public park close to the hotel - free.
Room was very nice. Good size, we had another sofa in the room that can be used by a third guest. Bathroom with shower - not bathtub, newly renovated, Room decor - nice with local ambience. Heating is central, you can’t control it, but it works all the time (not turned off during night like in other places). 4-5 channels on TV, only BBC in English.
Breakfast room, lounge and lobby, nicely decorated and pleasant. Breakfast is nice, usual stuff, nice selection and fresh croissants.
Spa area is small and minimalistic. nice Sauna, family size Jacuzzi, hot and cold shower,2 resting chairs and one aerobic cycles. Hotels doesn't have robes, you have to bring your own.
The staff, doesn’t speak English, only very few words, but for me is not a disadvantage when you travel to Italy. We communicated really nice with our poor Italian and their poor English with some hand and face mimic help. If you make reservation for restaurant by the hotel staff you get 10% discount.
Finally we enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Hotel with nice rooms, let down by an indifferent staff with absolutely no idea of what hospitality is or should be.

A disappointment all around as hotel is in a good location between ski lift and village but if anything other than a bed is required (such as service) you can forget about it.

A large proportion of guests during my visit were English speaking yet nobody in the hotel spoke any and seemed 'proud' of the fact.

Good cop/bad cop with the two lady managers. One a delight with serving breakfast (unless you want to take a cup of tea to your room where you will be charged extra) and the other an angry mongrel of an individual.

My second visit to La Thuile and most likely will not return due to this experience.
It has become overpriced without offering anything extra other than some very well put together marketing materials/booklets.

Last but not least complaint.
If your car gets stuck in snow in the hotel car park, you are on your own and this can (and did) mean two hours of clearing snow with no assistance from hotel.
They do have a garage but the path to this is not cleared either and would take longer to clear than an exit from the car park out front.

Bottom line is, the hotel and lift pass prices in La Thuile are approaching similar levels to world class resorts such as Zermatt, yet the level of service and class remain in the dark ages.
I personally would rather spend a little more and get my moneys worth in a real resort.

  • Liked — reasonable room
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NotFromBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Thuile
0.5 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boton d'Or
Hotel Boton d'Or
#2 of 10 in La Thuile
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#4 of 10 in La Thuile
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
#10 of 42 in Courmayeur
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Blanc

Property: Hotel Chateau Blanc
Address: Frazione Entreves 39, 11016 La Thuile, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Chateau Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing