We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaka Point
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“superb Views”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We arrived at the Motel after a long drive from Te Anau, stopping regularly to enjoy the amazing scenary and wildlife. The owner met us and showed to a fabulous unit with sea views, and even views of Nugget Point Lighthouse. The unit was very spacious, and had all you could need, with outdoor seating to enjoy the sounds of the native birdlife. The owner even turned up at the only pub later, and he was a very interesting and informative man, and knew lots of details about the area. He advised us the time in which to watch the yellow eyed penguins at roaring bay, and he was spot on. We saw 6 penguins come in to feed their chicks in just over an hour. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to the Catlins.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We booked this motel from a Motel directory. It was a lovely well equipped room with twin beds and a view of the sea over to Nugget Point. The kitchen was well fitted out with everything we needed for tea and coffee. The bathroom had a spa bath with one way windows so you could lie in the bath and enjoy the view! There was sky television and DVD and lots of books on the area. There was a shared balcony with tables and chairs for each unit.
There was a restaurant/bar within easy walking distance and a shop. It is a small village and probably two nights would be enough. Wonderful beaches all around. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This is a really great motel. We booked budget rooms and were amazed and delighted to find that we had really quite immaculate, luxury accommodation. The unit had a beautiful fully fitted kitchen with all utilities and there were laundry facilities onsite. Our room also had a lovely balcony overlooking the bay. The owners were extremely friendly and welcomed us personally, coming also to say goodbye.

  • Liked — The location, cleanliness and facilities
  • Disliked — Steep hill up and down to get to motel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

This motel has to be seen in terms of available accommodation within the Catlins: the remote, fairly undeveloped and very beautiful coastline of the South Island between Dunedin and Invercargill. International tourism hasn't really hit there and if you accept that and plan accordingly it's fine. We stayed in a two bedroom unit which cost $140 per night. I thought it was a little expensive. The cabin was old and fairly run down, the furniture was cheap, the bedding wasn't very new. The bathroom was tiny with no shower recess, just a shower curtain so water went all over the floor. There was a microwave and a hot plate. There was however a wonderful view over the beach. The owners were pleasant and helpful. The setting was very peaceful. The cabin was very clean. And the owner was very helpful in telling us about a fabulous local walk out to the lighthouse. I actually liked it but my husband loathed it. Kids were happy with Sky (cable) TV. There are some newer luxury cabins for couples which are probably of a higher quality. Be warned about food. Bring your own. The local shop is VERY limited in its offerings. The nearest shops and ATMs are at Balclutha. There is a nice looking restaurant but it's expensive and by that stage I couldn't stand the thought of any more fried food. Bring your own food, understand that it's not luxury accommodation and you'll have a great time.

  • Liked — The wonderful view of the sea
  • Disliked — No shower recess so we had a flood each time we showered
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussianBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

I overnighted here in the Catlins region of South Otago, New Zealand. I wanted to see some penguins, "The Nuggets" and the local waterfalls.

The hosts, Bruce & Coral Kilpatrick, were great. I needed to do laundry and they actually did it in their home which I picked up later (yes, I was charged $2 for wash, $2 for dry).

I was in an economy unit ($95 NZD) and it had a separate bedroom with electric blanket, separate bathroom and combo kitchen, dining and living room. TV with cable (including CNN) and the kitchen had a burner (so I could boil some ramel!). Bed was comfy.

It's a ten minute drive from Nugget Point where the rocks known as the Nuggets are located as well as a lighthouse and a place where you could view penguins (I saw 3 myself).

  • Liked — The view of the beach is wonderful!
  • Disliked — well, Kaka Point is a spot on the map!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lighthouseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
20.4 mi away
Asure St Johns Court Motel
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
24.7 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
0.1 mi away
Breadalbane House
Breadalbane House
#1 of 3 in Kaka Point
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels

Property: Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Address: 11 Rata Street, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing