We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaka Point
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in one of the older units over the road. Lovely comfortable two bedroom unit well equipped with everything we needed. Great view and lovely location. Put our washing in and went out for a couple of hours and when we got home our lovely host had put it through the dryer, folded it and left it in our unit!! Would love to have stayed longer!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice large rooms with comfortable bed ..kitchen very well appointed and spa bath was great after a days walking.Owners very friendly and helpful and was worth the paid trip to the lighthouse as we would have missed the seals and penguins that were hiding in the natural rocks etc

Room Tip: We chose the Spa bathroom rooms as faced out over the harbour and lovely to wake up to the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi30b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This motel is well situated with great views. the accommodation is poor quality for the price. We were charged nz$140 for a night. The motel was furnished with low quality furniture and fittings. Probably all soured from The Warehouse. Worth no more that $100 per night compared with other accommodation we had on our trip in the South Island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We really enjoyed The Catlins - peaceful and away from it all - but quality accommodation is hard to find. Fortunately, Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels are worth their rating. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well-equipped; the views are fabulous and there is good food nearby.

The wifi works - but the speeds are very s-l-o-w (a function of how far this place is from the mainstream). There is a supplementary charge for the wifi, which is a pity these days - wifi is as basic as plumbing .... places stopped charging for that some time ago.

Don't be put off by the slightly world-weary manner of the proprietor - he actually has guests' interests at heart and we discovered that nothing is too much trouble. He was helpful, for example, in describing things to do; and places to eat.

Don't hesitate - go, stay.

Room Tip: We asked for the one with the spa bath. All seem to have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

There are not many places in the Catlins where one can stay in a self contained unit that are reasonable priced.

We can highly recommend this one though. Our unit was a big room with plenty of space with a big double/queen bed and a single bed around the corner (still in the same room), fully equipped kitchen and a big bathroom (even with a Spa Bath).

The owners are very friendly and helpful with advising of the best times to spot the yellow eyed penguin and the best tides for the cathedral caves a bit further away.

We stayed two nights but could have easily stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed her for two nights during our trip to New Zealand. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Apartments are a rustic type style comprising a king sized bed, bedside table and bedside drawers, settee, dining table and chairs, fan heater, electric heater, flatscreen TV, clothes rack with hanger and storage space. Kitchen area with sink, tap, fridge, microwave, plates and cutlery, etc. Bathroom with double sized spa bath, shower, washbasin and wc. Terrace with table and two chairs. Terrace and apartment have nice views of the sea and coastline.
Free wi fi available upon request. Plenty of car parking space.
This is a lovely are and we enjoyed our stay here. I recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were in a 2 bedroom unit with fantastic ocean views. The owner was very helpful about places to eat and what time to see the penguins. The unit was clean and comfortable and quiet although it was not a busy time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
67 reviews
20.4 mi away
Asure St Johns Court Motel
3.5 mi away
Hill View Camp Site
Hill View Camp Site
#3 of 3 in Balclutha
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
0.1 mi away
Cardno's Accommodation
Cardno's Accommodation
#1 of 6 in Kaka Point
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels

Address: 11 Rata Street, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaka Point
Price Range: $85 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing