We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest but very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaka Point
Reviewed February 3, 2008

This motel has to be seen in terms of available accommodation within the Catlins: the remote, fairly undeveloped and very beautiful coastline of the South Island between Dunedin and Invercargill. International tourism hasn't really hit there and if you accept that and plan accordingly it's fine. We stayed in a two bedroom unit which cost $140 per night. I thought it was a little expensive. The cabin was old and fairly run down, the furniture was cheap, the bedding wasn't very new. The bathroom was tiny with no shower recess, just a shower curtain so water went all over the floor. There was a microwave and a hot plate. There was however a wonderful view over the beach. The owners were pleasant and helpful. The setting was very peaceful. The cabin was very clean. And the owner was very helpful in telling us about a fabulous local walk out to the lighthouse. I actually liked it but my husband loathed it. Kids were happy with Sky (cable) TV. There are some newer luxury cabins for couples which are probably of a higher quality. Be warned about food. Bring your own. The local shop is VERY limited in its offerings. The nearest shops and ATMs are at Balclutha. There is a nice looking restaurant but it's expensive and by that stage I couldn't stand the thought of any more fried food. Bring your own food, understand that it's not luxury accommodation and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussianBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2007

I overnighted here in the Catlins region of South Otago, New Zealand. I wanted to see some penguins, "The Nuggets" and the local waterfalls.

The hosts, Bruce & Coral Kilpatrick, were great. I needed to do laundry and they actually did it in their home which I picked up later (yes, I was charged $2 for wash, $2 for dry).

I was in an economy unit ($95 NZD) and it had a separate bedroom with electric blanket, separate bathroom and combo kitchen, dining and living room. TV with cable (including CNN) and the kitchen had a burner (so I could boil some ramel!). Bed was comfy.

It's a ten minute drive from Nugget Point where the rocks known as the Nuggets are located as well as a lighthouse and a place where you could view penguins (I saw 3 myself).

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lighthouseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elisabetta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank MichaelDeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
64 reviews
24.7 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
7.1 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hill View Camp Site
Hill View Camp Site
#3 of 3 in Balclutha
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardno's Accommodation
Cardno's Accommodation
#1 of 6 in Kaka Point
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels

Address: 11 Rata Street, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaka Point
Price Range: $83 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing