We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cardno's Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Cardno's was a perfect holiday stay for us. Our unit was spotlessly clean and so comfortable and cosy. We loved pulling back the curtains each morning to see the spectacular view. Clive and Robyn were the perfect hosts-we wanted for nothing. If we return to the Catlins in the future we will definitely stay here again; and we will recommend it to our travelling friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
thank you for your lovely review. Its good to get such positive. Hope you enjoyed your visit to the Catlins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently spent 4 days staying at this most amazing accommodation in Kaka Point. We were in the beachfront access unit for 3 nights which was decorated to a very high standard and was super clean and warm with a very comfortable bed, we wanted for nothing more. We loved the wee touches like the chocolates, magazines and even binoculars were supplied for our use while we were there. Our 4th night was spent in the smaller studio unit which was just as comfortable,clean and warm.
Kaka Point is a great base for viewing the Catlins area and a couple of "must do's" are to visit the Yellow Eyed Penguin hide at dawn or dusk and also to go and see the Nugget Point Lighthouse..spectacular view and easily accessible. Even though the weather wasn't the best while there, we felt that we saw this part of the Coastline as nature intended, raw and natural so don't be afraid to get off the beaten track or you could miss some true delights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay- it was nice meeting you, and you left your units so tidy. A pleasure to have you stay here, come back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The studio room was decorated and well maintained to a very high standard. Although I wanted the 1 bedroom apartment, the studio room offered a bit more privacy. The chocolates on arrival was a nice touch as well as the use of binoculars and being offered some tasty homegrown tomatoes. Robyn went out of her way to get the internet working efficiently and being the perfect host. The view from verandah and inside was great. KaKa Point is a good position for seeing the sites down the coast and back inland and was an appealing area to stay in The Catlins.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. When you have had a busy day sightseeing its important to have a comfy bed and its great being able to relax in Unit 2 with the sea views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Beautiful gorgeous room with nice decor. It is modern and sparkling clean. Very well maintained. We really hope to come back and stay again. It is a beautiful area. Nearby to several of the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agathabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
thank you for your fabulous review. hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Superb situation. The hosts were friendly and most informative. The whole place was spotlessly clean with excellent facilities. We were in the smallest unit without the sea view but spent our time exploring this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Book one of the units with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very friendly welcome started a thoroughly enjoyable stay here. We were in Unit 1 which overlooked the sea. We were very surprised how beautiful the Catlins area was as we had never thought of visiting this area previously. Nugget Point was beautiful even in the mist and there were lots of fur seals to be seen even without binoculars lounging on the rocks. We walked among seals on the beach at Cannibal Bay which was the highlight of our time in the area. Curio Bay has a Jurassic fossilised forest which we were able to see as it was low tide. There were also yellow eyed penguins on the beach too. All in all a fantastic place to stay as lots to do here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is a great area for people who love the outdoors and the wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely spot. We had Unit 2 at the end of the building. I had a lovely sleep with a fantastic view. Luggage rack and a handy bench for more luggage, which is lacking is a lot of places. Friendly welcome, clean and comfortable. The sun wasn't on the deck anymore by the time we arrived but there was a warm sunny grassy area in front of our deck. It was wonderfully relaxing. I wished we could have stayed another night. We walked to The Point Cafe for drinks and a wonderful steak dinner. Highly recommend, and hope to someday return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review. I will past on your comments to the Point Café as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
0.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
6.8 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Breadalbane House
Breadalbane House
#1 of 3 in Kaka Point
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardno's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardno's Accommodation

Property: Cardno's Accommodation
Address: 8 Marine Terrace, Kaka Point 9271, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robyn and Clive Barnett welcome you to their Catlins Accommodation in Kaka Point, you will be well-placed to explore one of the last frontiers of tourist destinations in New Zealand. The seaside accommodation is only 1 hour's drive from Dunedin Airport, following the Southern Scenic Route. The accommodation offers quality, modern contemporary furnished accommodation: either a self-contained unit (apartment-style) with cooking facilities or studio unit with breakfast facilities, both with fantastic sea views. Also there is a well appointed modern styled economy unit, with out sea views. Long stays welcome and tariffs adjusted accordingly. No children or pets;FREE WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing