We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart and comfortable units with great views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardno's Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2013

These apartments are a great base to explore local beaches and Nugget Point. They didn't disappoint in any way - but don't expect too much from the local amenities at Kaka Point or elsewhere in the Catlins. If in doubt, stock up in Balclutha.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandjgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Kaka Point is a beautiful place to stay, and if you wish to cook your own meals it does pay to visit the supermarket in Owaka or Balclutha before you get to Kaka Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 79 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spacious, clean comfortable room, but the decor of room was without much style.
Nice patio, but it is located just beside the street, no privacy
Located in quiet street: you look out at other houses and further you can see the sea
Reception was not particularly cordial and 5% commission for a payment by credit card is somewhat exaggerated
Wifi is oinly free for a short period

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMIELANDMARLEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have not been charging 5% on credit card payments since we became owners of Cardnos in September, so if you check your statement I think you will find you havent been charged. (It does cost us 5% to make a credit card payment on site, therefore we do prefer if our customers can book and pay on our website.) Im sorry you did not like the decor but since we have been here most of our visitors comment on how refreshing and lovely the units are. Wifi vouchers are offered free and we are quite happy to supply extras if usage is not suffient. We try to make all our visitors welcome and try to encourage people to ask if they need anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as part of weekend trip to the Catlins.

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Chocolates on arrival was a bonus! Also a pair of binoculars are provided to look out to the sea.

There was a small decked area outside which was great to catch the sun in the morning whilst eating breakfast. The view of the sea and beach is partial ( this is from room 2).

Nugget point is 15 min drive away down a gravel road.

Only one bar/restaurant in town which is 5 min walk away - served generous portions of typical pub style food.

Would definitely stay here again if passing through. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a better sea/beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_JRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are new in the business and value feedback. We really want to provide an excellent service so if you have any thoughts on how we can improve please email us on info@cardnos.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights in Unit 2 overlooking the bay Robyn and Clive were very friendly, helpful hosts and they provided accommodation of a very high standard. The purpose-built unit had everything you needed for self-catering and had it been a little warmer we would have made good use of the patio. Our only minor issue was that of wi-fi access. Our hosts made this available through the purchase of a voucher but it only provided a very limited amount of time.

Kaka Point is well positioned for exploring the Catlins and we would recommend an early stop at the Owaka visitors' centre with its brilliant museum as well as helpful advice about the area. Two whole days was nowhere near enough time for us to explore the area fully but Curio Bay and its petrified forest is a must: as is Surat Bay and the lounging sea-lions and, of course, Roaring Bay and the Yellow Eyed penguin colony.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you Roger for your positive comments- Have noted your comment on the Wifi vouchers. I can supply vouchers with a larger volumn, I will make it a point to ask our visitors of their requirements in future. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed two nights in unit 2. Amazingly good sleep on a large comfy bed, comfy arm chairs in the room as well as furniture on the deck - both positioned to enjoy the wonderful sea views & out towards Nugget Point Lighthouse. Robyn & Clive proved to be excellent hosts, knowledgable about the area & very helpful. Would definately stay again

Room Tip: Both the front rooms have excellent views - the 3rd unit is cheaper, but you miss out on enjoying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you Diane for your great review - glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in Unit 2. The room was nicely appointed with good quality mattresses and linens. The unit faces the ocean and has a nice deck to sit on. It's up above the main road, one street back. Everything was fairly new and in good condition. The owners were very nice, and the only restaurant in town (The Point) is one block away.

Pros: Clean, warm, friendly, comfortable, view of the ocean.
Cons: No shampoo in the shower, wifi is not free

I would definitely recommend Cardno's if you are passing through Kaka point.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Sorry so long responding to your comments but took a while changing ownership details. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I have taken on board your comments. We now supply shampoo/ conditioner in our units and supply WiFi vouchers free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's wonderful trip in South Island. Cardno's accommodation was one of the best B&B in my trip, beatiful seaview, comfortable facility, and convenient to find food... Everything is amazing....I really recommend this host.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woomaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Maggie
Thanks for your good review. Had just become the new owners when you stayed, so good to have some feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
64 reviews
0 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
#6 of 6 in Kaka Point
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardno's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardno's Accommodation

Address: 8 Marine Terrace, Kaka Point 9271, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range: $96 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laura and Chris welcome you to their Catlins Accommodation in Kaka Point, you will be well-placed to explore one of the last frontiers of tourist destinations in New Zealand. The seaside accommodation is only 1 hour's drive from Dunedin Airport, following the Southern Scenic Route. The accommodation offers quality, modern contemporary furnished accommodation: either a self-contained unit (apartment-style) with cooking facilities or studio unit with breakfast facilities, both with fantastic sea views. Also there is a well appointed modern styled economy unit, with out sea views. Long stays welcome and tariffs adjusted accordingly. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cardno's Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing