We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to Stay in Nugget Point”
Review of Nugget Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nugget Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Nugget Lodge is actually 2 full sized, well appointed one bedroom apartments directly on a spectactular craggy point on the way to the Nugget Point Light House and Penguin hide. The views of the sea, rocks and beaches from the terraces and windows are beautiful beyond description.

While breakfast will not be cooked for you, bring groceries from Balclutha and stay a few days. There is a barbie and complete kitchen with everything you will need to prepare and enjoy your own gourmet meals on the terraces.

The apartments are arranged one above the other. Naturally the one on the top has more distant views, but the one on the bottom is a bit larger. You cannot miss with either one. Both are immaculate and quite comfortable. The owners, Pauline and Willy Simpson, are friendly and gracious hosts who respect your privacy.

We highly recommend this gorgeous place. . . staying at the Nugget Lodge was an experience we will always remember!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2010

Nugget Lodge is in an amazing location very close to Nugget Point in the Catlins. The feeling is one of total relaxation and the owners, Pauline and Willy, some of the most relaxed, friendly and laid-back people you will ever meet in your life. Nothing was too much for these guys and I can't speak too highly of them. The first thing the people that I travelled with said to me upon check-in was "So why aren't we staying longer here?". My recommendation: Don't stay just one night on the way through but stay for several days to really soak up the atmosphere and amazing environment around this place. Penguins anyone? They're just around the corner. Sea Lions - just go for a walk along teh beach and there's a good chance you'll see some. The location, combined with fantastic Kiwi hosts, makes this one of the best places I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIMEUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Nugget Lodge literally sits right on the bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean! We had the upstairs self-contained unit (there is a lower, garden-view unit) which has incredible view of the rocks, beach and the ocean right outside your deck.
Wonderful place to go with a stack of books and relax for an extended stay! Bring groceries and supplies, since it is located in a wonderfully remote spot in the Caitlins.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

This was the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Very convenient if you wish to self cater. Eating out is limited and expensive but we were happy to cook. The apartment is extremely well appointed. Everything you need is there.
We would recommend the lighthouse unit. That is the one upstairs. The downstairs unit gets no sun in the morning and the bedroom faces a trellis wall behind which are water tanks so definitely go for the upstairs unit with the view.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

What more could we ask for? We were here in failry cold early spring. Nothing that thermals couldnt sort. The beach is absolutely beautiful and we had two different views from the bed; one sandy beach, one rocky! Our hostess was very welcoming and had provided us with details before we arrived. The breakfast tray was so generous that we found we didnt need all the provisions we brought with us! We got good advice on where to find information about my ancestors and the best times to see the penguins. A few sealions hauled up while we were there and we got excellent photos of them and also of the yellow eyed penguins coming home to bed!! A magical place even in october! Only regret we hadnt got a week! two days wasnt enough.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

If you are looking for a place to stay that is off the main tourist route and you don't mind a bit of remoteness then this is the place for you. There are no supermarkets/corner stores close by so bring in what you need for your stay. All this information (and a map of the area) is mailed to you prior to your arrival - suburb service.

I spent two nights here on the ground floor apartment. The rooms are comfortable but not flash but you don't expect them to be - it's right on the beach. Once the road traffic out to the lighthouse stops for the day it becomes a most tranquil setting. Wander the beach (avoiding the sea lions) or just sit back and quaff a wine. But make sure you get up for the sunrise...

This location is suburb for viewing what this region has to offer - waterfalls, caves, wildlife, remote beaches etc etc. I was blessed to have great weather during my stay, things might be different during the colder months.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qld-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

excellent location on the coast. ideal for exploring the scenery and wildlife of the catlins region. the lodge has two self contained units, both well appointed and spacious. top unit looks towards the lighthouse, lower on to the beach - usually frequented by sea lions.

note, not your average B&B - you will have to make your own bed and sort your breakfast, but the hosts are friendly and helpful.

not sure how the lodge would be in winter, as it is perched on the rocks over the beach, but for summer, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManWithSillyHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
6.6 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
13 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cardno's Accommodation
Cardno's Accommodation
#1 of 6 in Kaka Point
78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
6.5 mi away
Catlins Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Lodge

Address: 367 The Nuggets Road, R.D. 1, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range: $88 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing