We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nugget Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nugget Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

If the relaxing sounds of the sea; fantastic views of miles of coastline; a lovely beach and the near contact with wildlife appeal to you, then the "Lighthouse Unit" at Nugget Lodge is the place for a wonderful stay in The Catlins.
Perched on an exclusive rocky outcrop at Kaka Point, the unit, along with its companion, the "Sea Lion Unit", offer clean, elegant and unrivalled accommodation. Cook yourself - each has a fully equipped kitchenette (including microwave) - or eat out at one of the cafes/restaurants in the relatively near area.
With so many amazing and wide-ranging attractions,The Catlins offer the visitor a fine holiday. Stay and relax a few days at Nugget Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What an amazing little out of the way spot this is. We stayed in the Lighthouse apartment on the upper deck which had fantastic views of the coast and could see the sea from our bed! Fantastic hosts, amazing wild life right on your doorstep and perfect privacy. We took our own food and cooked for ourselves and had a wonderful stay-just wish it could've been longer!

Room Tip: Chose the Lighthouse upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_pair24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had a great stay at the Nugget lodge. Willie and his wife were great hosts. I stayed in the Sea Lion which was very spacious and has a yard that looks out on the beautiful coast. The location and view cannot be beaten. It is directly on the coast. You cannot get closer. The best location in Kaka point. The breakfast was excellent also. I only wish that I could have stayed longer. I booked at the last minute and was lucky that they had an opening for a night. When I am back in this area, I will definitely stay here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TexHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nugget lodge has 2 self contained units; we were in Lighthouse on the upper deck which has a king bed, open plan living and the most wonderful views across the bay. Breakfast is provided on a tray which is a basic continental breakfast. If you want eggs and bacon, you'll need to shop well in advance of arriving in this remote corner of NZ. The lodge is perfect for visiting the Catlins and the wildlife in the surrounding bays; we were lucky enough to see and swim with the dolphins in Curio Bay ..... patience is required to allow the dolphins time to get used to you but the reward is huge as they come closer and closer and end up brushing past s their curiosity gets the better of them .... amazing, and free! The unit has wifi, full oven, microwave, dining table, freeview tv, comfy L shaped sofas, outdoor seating and the best view imaginable onto a beach which may as well be your own private beach; there were more sleeping sealion than there were people. Highly recommended accommodation, very helpful and accessible owners beautiful location.

Room Tip: Lighthouse sleeps 2 (the lower one sleeps 3 I think, maybe 4) and has the better views due to its el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in the Sea Lion appartment and it was very comfortable & cozy with a spacious living area (living room, dining room, kitchen, TV & even DVDs), a big bedroom and a bathroom. Free Wi fi too.
The appartment has a small yard with an outdoor table and can have direct access to the beach.
The other appartment on the top has a lovely terrace too.

The owner is very nice, the lodge is good value too.

Room Tip: The upperfloor appartment must have lovely views, however the one downstairs has direct access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Sensational view, beautiful self contained accommodation, way more than a simple b&b. Well equipped, spacious & facilities to cook for yourself if you want. While we had originally planned to eat out we couldn't tear ourselves away so made do with pasta & luckily a bottle of great NZ pinot. Yes, the bottom unit does not have the unrivalled view that the top one has but still great accommodation, particularly in this out of the way spot. Perfect location to visit the nugget point lighthouse (more fantastic views), seals & you might spot a penguin if you're lucky! Was really happy with the breakfast provided unobtrusively in the afternoon for us to have the next day. You wouldn't want to sit down for a full cooked breakfast with other guests when you can stay in your PJ's & look at that view!

Room Tip: If you want the best view, yes, you'll have to book the room on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We rented the lighthouse unit for 3 nights. It was magical. The views were wonderful, and we didn't want to move. We had our own private beach, with our own sea lion! Rock pooling, collecting shells, just chilling out. The Catlins is the perfect place to see wildlife - dolphins, penguins, seals etc. We loved it & can't wait to go back. J & J Oxford England

Room Tip: Choose the lighthouse suite. Sunsets, & views are fantastic + sitting on the balcony, drinking w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneBegbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
6.6 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
6.5 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
5.0 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Lodge

Property: Nugget Lodge
Address: 367 The Nuggets Road, R.D. 1, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing