We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking spot!”
Review of Nugget Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nugget Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What an amazing little out of the way spot this is. We stayed in the Lighthouse apartment on the upper deck which had fantastic views of the coast and could see the sea from our bed! Fantastic hosts, amazing wild life right on your doorstep and perfect privacy. We took our own food and cooked for ourselves and had a wonderful stay-just wish it could've been longer!

Room Tip: Chose the Lighthouse upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel_pair24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had a great stay at the Nugget lodge. Willie and his wife were great hosts. I stayed in the Sea Lion which was very spacious and has a yard that looks out on the beautiful coast. The location and view cannot be beaten. It is directly on the coast. You cannot get closer. The best location in Kaka point. The breakfast was excellent also. I only wish that I could have stayed longer. I booked at the last minute and was lucky that they had an opening for a night. When I am back in this area, I will definitely stay here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank TexHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nugget lodge has 2 self contained units; we were in Lighthouse on the upper deck which has a king bed, open plan living and the most wonderful views across the bay. Breakfast is provided on a tray which is a basic continental breakfast. If you want eggs and bacon, you'll need to shop well in advance of arriving in this remote corner of NZ. The lodge is perfect for visiting the Catlins and the wildlife in the surrounding bays; we were lucky enough to see and swim with the dolphins in Curio Bay ..... patience is required to allow the dolphins time to get used to you but the reward is huge as they come closer and closer and end up brushing past s their curiosity gets the better of them .... amazing, and free! The unit has wifi, full oven, microwave, dining table, freeview tv, comfy L shaped sofas, outdoor seating and the best view imaginable onto a beach which may as well be your own private beach; there were more sleeping sealion than there were people. Highly recommended accommodation, very helpful and accessible owners beautiful location.

Room Tip: Lighthouse sleeps 2 (the lower one sleeps 3 I think, maybe 4) and has the better views due to its el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in the Sea Lion appartment and it was very comfortable & cozy with a spacious living area (living room, dining room, kitchen, TV & even DVDs), a big bedroom and a bathroom. Free Wi fi too.
The appartment has a small yard with an outdoor table and can have direct access to the beach.
The other appartment on the top has a lovely terrace too.

The owner is very nice, the lodge is good value too.

Room Tip: The upperfloor appartment must have lovely views, however the one downstairs has direct access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Sensational view, beautiful self contained accommodation, way more than a simple b&b. Well equipped, spacious & facilities to cook for yourself if you want. While we had originally planned to eat out we couldn't tear ourselves away so made do with pasta & luckily a bottle of great NZ pinot. Yes, the bottom unit does not have the unrivalled view that the top one has but still great accommodation, particularly in this out of the way spot. Perfect location to visit the nugget point lighthouse (more fantastic views), seals & you might spot a penguin if you're lucky! Was really happy with the breakfast provided unobtrusively in the afternoon for us to have the next day. You wouldn't want to sit down for a full cooked breakfast with other guests when you can stay in your PJ's & look at that view!

Room Tip: If you want the best view, yes, you'll have to book the room on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We rented the lighthouse unit for 3 nights. It was magical. The views were wonderful, and we didn't want to move. We had our own private beach, with our own sea lion! Rock pooling, collecting shells, just chilling out. The Catlins is the perfect place to see wildlife - dolphins, penguins, seals etc. We loved it & can't wait to go back. J & J Oxford England

Room Tip: Choose the lighthouse suite. Sunsets, & views are fantastic + sitting on the balcony, drinking w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBegbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Highly recommended. Friendly and helpful hosts, a lovely people-free area and stunning views. Any closer to the sea and you'd need windscreen wipers for storms. We had a wonderful stay and would happily return.

Thank GeorgeTooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
6.6 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
57 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
13.0 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Breadalbane House
Breadalbane House
#1 of 3 in Kaka Point
9 reviews
2.9 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Lodge

Address: 367 The Nuggets Road, R.D. 1, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range: $90 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing