We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best view in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Point Cafe

The Point Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kaka Point
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Probably the best view in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Situated right across the road from the beach this great wee pub/cafe has a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The meals looked amazing although we didn't have the opportunity to dine in this time around.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    53
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Balclutha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips with a beautiful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Scenery can't be beat. Food pretty average and pricey.... but paying for the beachfront views I guess.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only place in town”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Since this is the only place in Kaka Point to eat and we had heard good reports, we decided to dine here. I had the chowder, my husband had a seafood platter that came with salad. Basically everything on my husband's plate was deep fried and the salad(s) were sitting on a side board for who knows how long - coleslaw and another overdressed, limp salad. Not a fresh vegetable in sight...My chowder was just OK. We would drive to Balclutha or Owaka next time rather than eat here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“THE place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

A little treasure, run by people who care. Good food, fine views, lovely atmosphere. We had dinner and then breakfast the following morning, the latter while sharing an interesting conversation about local things with the owner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent blue cod and chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We ate there twice,sitting in window overlooking beach. limited menu but blue cod and chowder were both excellent and simply presented. We did not feel it to be a place to major on starters or puddings but it did not need to! Manager and staff very friendly

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Cafe also viewed

Owaka, Otago Region
Owaka, Otago Region
 
Kaka Point, Otago Region
Southland Region, South Island
 
Owaka, Otago Region
Balclutha, Otago Region
 

Been to The Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing