We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired looking hotel”
Review of Gulf Harbour Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Harbour Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tired looking hotel”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel looked so promising on its website but the reality is very different and disappointing. The room we stayed in was very dated and felt grubby, there were stains on the bedcover and a strange smell in the room which may have been from previous occupants cooking. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were very thin.
There were tea and coffee making facilities but only four portions of milk in the fridge. Other hotels we have stayed in on this trip provided a whole carton of milk!
We only saw one member of staff who was very friendly when we checked in. There was no-one around when we checked out.
The whole area around Gulf Harbour seemed very downbeat so we didn't bother trying to find anywhere to eat there but drove to Orewa instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    10
    17
    12
See reviews for
14
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, QLD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Tidy but dated room. Good size with two doubles. Reasonable value I thought. Excellent pressure in the shower. Our room was overlooking bars and cafe so got rowdy on Friday night. Solved this by joining the festivities. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Thanks so much to management (Sonya, Matt & Staff) who went out of their way to be helpful and accomodate our needs and give us an wonderful stay. The room was quiet and we had no issues at all. Thanks again for everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am always interested to read reviews by other travellers, as there is nearly always someone who finds fault! Joe Public for you, as we say in the UK!

Gulf Harbour Lodge is clean, has well appointed rooms, and overlooks the marina. We had a special rate of $99 for a room for two in November 2012. There were in fact two double beds in the room. The cost is for room only, and if you self cater the kitchen area is adequate, with a fridge and microwave, crockery and cutlery. We returned to the Plaza shopping centre for breakfast, 6 minutes away by car.

On the ground floor and separate from the hotel, there is a bar, and when we arrived at 1900, the live group were just warming up, time for us to leave for the Carpe Diem restaurant almost next door, where we were able to enjoy conversation with our friends, and have an excellent meal. After a starter of garlic bread, We chose the prawns and scallops seared on skewers, plenty of them and really good value for money. With two good bottles of wine between 4 of us, the total bill was $50 per head. Now is that overpriced or expensive?

By the time we retired to bed, 22.00, all was quiet, and we were not disturbed by noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again, and can recommend it to other readers. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge 7th and 8th July 2012. We had an executive suite which was very spacious and well appointed with a spectacular view down the canal. A kingsize bed, ample clothes storage for a longer stay, a dining table, writing desk, sofa, all made for a very relaxing environment. There was also a toaster and microwave available in the room. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We ate at both of the restaurants underneath the Lodge and enjoyed the hospitable staff at each. Food was basic, in good quantities and tasty. Noise from the bar did not worry us as we were at the end of the complex and totally undisturbed. The let down was in the detail. The corridoe outside our room had an unpleasant smell, a wardrobe door was off one hinge, one hook was off the drapes, wall paper was lifting, the instructions for the tv and the dvd were incorrect, one window would not open the other would not close. These little things were unfortunate. Having said that we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the Marina executive suite as a first choice otherwise ask for a room that will not be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here last Saturday night. I agree with earlier reviews.The room was clean and presentable. The reception staff pleasant and helpful. The bar just opposite was very noisy and open till late, made worse since we couldn't close the top windows to shut out the noise. The Carpe Diam restaurant served tasty,but basic food, which was overpriced. Breakfast was like motorway cafe food. Overall okay accom, but much too expensive

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank playnejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whangaparaoa hotels

England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in March 2012 for three nights. The motel is in a nice setting and forms part of a modern complex which includes a couple of decent restaurants and a few shops that overlook the small marina. There are a few other local shops just across the road including the best takeaway fish & chip shop I've ever come across but there is little else of interest as the area is mostly residential..Our room was situated on the 1st floor (there is a lift) had all mod cons and was a decent size with a balcony that overlooked the Italian syle piaza and marina.
Unfortunately,the bar below seems to attract a lot of locals for outside drinking sessions and the associated shouting,whooping etc. started at midday and carried on until midnight and spoilt the 3 days we were there.
I wouldn't want to be there over a weekend!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangaparaoa
6.0 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
316 reviews
5.4 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sheep and Shag
The Sheep and Shag
#2 of 5 in Whangaparaoa
5 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sunny Side Up B&B
The Sunny Side Up B&B
#1 of 5 in Whangaparaoa
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Harbour Lodge

Property: Gulf Harbour Lodge
Address: 164 Harbour Village Drive | Whangaparaoa, Whangaparaoa 0930, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Whangaparaoa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Harbour Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulf Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing