We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular service, spectacular views.”
Review of Whangaparaoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Arriving yesterday late afternoon we were greeted by our host Troy. He carried bags upstairs settled us in and then disappeared...only to come back a few minutes later with a refreshing iced tea to welcome us. The room is spacious and has these views that you wouldn't find in too many stops. Troy has been a fantastic host and could not do enough for us. It's a must stay and across the road from the beach. Breakfast delivered to the balcony for us to sit out and enjoy the views and freshly baked muffins were delicious as was the eggs served with sausage and bacon. Don't let the busy road during the day put you off quiet and peaceful at night.....

Room Tip: Must stay in room 14
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaylene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you Gaylene for the feedback! As mentioned upon you leaving us yesterday we thoroughly enjoyed having you both stay with us in our Premium View Suite - the official name for your room "#14"
Glad you enjoyed the little touches, from the iced tea to the home-made muffins, and breakfast which is a recent addition to the offering here as we build month after month in creating our unique stay experience.
Looking forward to seeing you both again next year where you will see some more additions - particularly to the suite you stayed in as it is one of my favourite rooms also.
Kind regards
Troy & Tomoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Whangaparaoa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 332 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked into Whangaparoa Lodge after struggling to find accomodation on the North Shore. We are so glad we did! Only 25mins away by car, and it felt like we were in a little piece of paradise!
Very helpful owners, who were very accomodating and friendly. Large, clean, modern, quiet and comfortable rooms, all with a delightful view and a walk on the beach across the road. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments!
We also were thrilled you stayed with us and enjoyed the experience - exactly what we are trying to provide just 25 minutes away from the hustle and bustle right on the beach here in Little Manly.
Look forward to seeing you again when you need that break away!
Kind regards
Troy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here one night a couple of weeks ago so we could check out a friends gig in the area.

Very handy location, excellent outlook over the ocean and back to the city. Beautiful sunny deck on the executive suite for morning coffee and reading the paper.

Very friendly management, happy to help with our requests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank flash6481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. We enjoyed having you stay with us and have since connected with the team at Jambalaya so we can attract more people like yourselves to come and enjoy a great night of Jazz, Southern cuisine and relaxation away from the city
Hope to see you again soon!
With kind regards
Troy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Troy was a very welcoming and informative host and gave us information about nearby attractions etc. The room has been finished to a high standard and had everything we could need. We ordered breakfast to be delivered to the room and found it great quality with everything freshly made. I would recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SeanAU13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi SeanAU13
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay with us. Of course we were thrilled to see you had enjoyed your time with us and in particular the comment about breakfast being "great quality with everything freshly made" as we have just changed the menu and happy it worked for you.
Look forward to welcoming you back again one time soon for another retreat from the city!
Kind regards
Troy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place - Rooms comfortable and clean. Service was great, friendly and helpful owners. Though it was a rainy weekend the views out to the Hibiscus Coast were beautiful. And though the lodge is located on a very busy road the noise insulation was perfect which guaranteed a good night sleep. We can recommend this Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveLinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Made a visit up north from the Waikato for a long weekend.
Was very pleasant suprise to drive up to the lodge. Modern, welcoming and clean! Lovely outlook over Little Manly bay! - Nice on a sunny day to take a walk.

VERY freindly and helpful owner - thank you!
Our room was clean, modern and bed was lovely to sleep in.

Great visit and we have recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kje007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great place. The room is very clean and big. Owner is super friendly and helpful.

We were there for a friend's son's christening ceremony, the place was recommended by a local friend and we were very surprised to find out how clean and tidy the place was when we were there.

Owner is super friendly , I left my shirt at the place and he dropped me email about it. It was a great stay in Nz !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genelimkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you! It was a pleasure having you all stay with us for your special occasion and short get-a-way down to NZ. Understandably as we have just taken over the business we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and the area of Whangaparaoa itself.

Look forward to seeing you again next time

Kind regards
Troy & Tomoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangaparaoa
14.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
319 reviews
14.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
718 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
5.5 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangaparaoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangaparaoa Lodge

Address: 874 Whangaparaoa Road | Little Manly Beach, Whangaparaoa, Auckland 0930, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Whangaparaoa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Price Range: $105 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangaparaoa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is located in Auckland features 12 studio and 2 one bedroom modern appointed suites which literally is your home away from home at the gates of the Whangaparaoa Peninsula. On offer, a host of activities and sights, relaxation, education and unforgettable experiences catering for families, couples or groups alike with all the local activities, walks, beaches and tranquility just 35 minutes north of Auckland city and 60 minutes to Auckland Airport. Nearby Activities Include • Nature walks, wild life and conservation education at Tiritiri Matangi & Shakespear Park • Golf - 3 courses within 10 minutes • Beautiful beachside walks and Jogging trails • Fishing, kayak and diving tours • Snow Planet -NZ's only indoor skiing venue • Weekend local markets at Coatesville, Gulf Harbour & Silverdale • Shopping in Silverdale and Albany • Wine trails in Matakana • Excellent local restaurants within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Whangaparaoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing