We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very accommodating hosts..”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whangaparaoa, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marian K
1 review
“Very accommodating hosts..”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We really appreciated how Janis went out of her way to allow us a one night stay in their B and B on a weekend when she was fully occupied herself doing a charity walk (and she did very well too)!
Thanks again:)

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
It was lovely to meet you both Marian. Thank you for your review. Take care and I hope you are healing well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rinnimaus
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful quiet and familiar place”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved to stay a this place close to the bay and the Shakespeare National park. Our host was very polite and helping. She fixed the breakfast on the porch with the things we like as fresh fruits and cereals, toast and eggs. We had two private bedrooms, a big bath, a kitchen area with TV and an extra area on the porch.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review, I really appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us as well and we look forward to seeing you again in the future on your next visit to New Zealand. Kind regards, Janis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fannydusu...
Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Janis was greate for informations., and the breakfast on the terrace a must. The Bb is great located whith a very nice view. Don't miss Shakspeare park.
Only one thing I feel the bed too soft.
We had a very nice stay thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Thank you Fanny for your review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay. I do hope you are both well and I think of you going off to your daily swims and walking. Take care of yourselves. Kind Regards, Peter and Janis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8050trave...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I enjoyed every moment of staying at Okoromai Bed and Breakfast: Very friendly hosts Janis and Peter, excellent location close to nature and just a ferry ride away from Auckland CBD, a beautiful room with a private bathroom and terrace and last but not least a great breakfast including a very nice conversation with the hosts. Whenever I will be back in the Auckland area I will stay here again.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Allein/Single
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you in our home Daniel. Your sharing of the places you have been to was wonderful to listen to. We look forward to any future visits you may make.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayneven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional kindness”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We spent a week in this spacious comfortable suite of rooms. Lovely double room with patio windows opening onto balcony. Pretty views of Shakespeare park and the bay.

Delightful living room with kettle, microwave, fridge and beverage supply. Freshly picked peaches just appeared from nowhere. Dining table, loungers and tv too.

Bathroom so beautifully spacious spotless and stylish. Self contained suite. Perfect.

Breakfast always enjoyable with piping fresh coffee.

But the warmth of the welcome is what stands out. Janis is unique. Nothing was too much trouble. I had a cold; she would put a menthol candle out for me. Lemon and ginger tea provided instantly.

There was the deepest kindness shown ..way beyond what one might expect. We left in the very early morning for our flight and Janis was there to help us depart. I didn't want to leave.

Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
It was such a pleasure to have you both stay. Thank you for choosing our place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verena7h
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay in a comfortable and wonderful B&B”
Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Janis's and Peters hause very much. During our 4 days stay we encountered great hospitality. The breakfast hast been really good and our rooms very clean. Both have been very kind and helpful. We definitely can recommend this B&B.Thank you Janis and Peter

Traveling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2018
Thank you for your great review of our Bed & Breakfast, we are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us.
We do hope you get the chance to come to New Zealand again and that we can be of service to you.
Kind Regards, Janis and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AS42
County Durahm
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A jewel in Okoromai's Crown”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We cannot thank Janice and Peter enough for their abundant hospitality when we stayed with them this February. Janice welcomed us as though we were family with a big hug at the door before showing us to very well appointed rooms with a private kitchen and bathroom. We loved how she shared breakfast with us on our first morning telling us about her life but equally very interested to hear about ours, Nothing was any trouble whatsoever to Janice and Peter and I would most certainly recommend a stay here as a base to explore Auckland and the surrounding areas. First class!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of our Bed and Breakfast. It was a pleasure to have you here. I do hope you make it back to New Zealand there is so much more to see. Thank you also for sharing your stories, that is interesting when we can do that. Take care and we hope to see your back in our little corner of the world.
Kind Regards, Janis and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing