We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience”

Tongariro Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Turangi
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Tongariro Lodge restaurant, is renowned for excellent food. The menu is updated seasonally to incorporate the best of local produce. We are open for Breakfast from 7am and Dinner from 6.00 pm Lunch by appointment. To avoid disappointment we recommend you make a booking.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food and surroundings at the restaurant are excellent with a really well balanced regular menu and a selection of specials. All the dishes were beautifully presented. We stayed for 3 nights and so we worked our way through most of the dishes between us & enjoyed the wine list as well! The staff are very friendly and attentive and so thanks to Andrew and his team.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    6
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Restarant”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food was disgusting. We were embarrassed having brought our friends their telling them how great our last experience was. 3 out of 6 starters where well below par. At least 2 of the mains were disgusting including one that had pieces of pot scrubber in it. Desserts also not worth mentioning as they had just come straight from the freezer. Should have stayed at Parklands Motel for dinner where we were staying and had great meals on 2 previous nights.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank memaria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Chef”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved the food at dinner at the Tongariro Lodge. The meat and fish are perfectly prepared. And the portions are more than adequate. I am lactose intolerant, and the chef (Richard Atkinson) was incredibly responsive relative to that issue. He even prepared special desserts for me! The only negative aspect is that the service was a little lax.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 379Marie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely a five star!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

While staying in Turangi, New Zealand we were looking for a restaurant and just happened onto The Tongariro Lodge. It is charming in decor. The fireplace, music and friendly staff provide such a comfortable ambience. There were four in our group and each meal was delicious and beautifully presented. The wine list was good and also reasonably priced. We met Andrew, who is the new manager. He took excellent care of us and helped guide us in our wine choices. We fished with their guide the next day and the chef prepared our trout for us while we dined with them again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, let down by service”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had eaten here a couple of years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our meal so when we saw a grab one deal for dinner we snapped it up! However on arrival we were shown into a separate part of restaurant and were the only ones for the entire meal. Everyone else eating that night were in the main restaurant ? Because of voucher ? Not sure. Some of the glasses on the table were dirty. The service was friendly but really amateur. They knew nothing about the food. However, when the food arrived it was great. The options for children were limited. Came away disappointed and felt that front of house really let down the chef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamespascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongariro Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Turangi, Taupo District
 
Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Tongariro Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing