We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turangi Bridge Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed one night with three young children after a long cold drive. The hosts we very welcoming, we had interconecting rooms which were warm and suited our needs. The water was hot, it was very quiet, we were probably the noisiest there. The meal at the resturant was good value and they catered beautifully for the children who also enjoyed the owners guitar playing.
All in all excellent value for money and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBANNISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night in Turangi, and really enjoyed our accommodation. The hospitality was excellent, rooms comfortable. We had breakfast and dinner at the on-site restaurant and dinner was superb - beautiful food, with the owner even playing live music!! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The rooms could do with a refurbish as they are dated and the mattresses 'tired'. However the patrons were very friendly. We ate there one night and found the meal 'average' The staff were very busy and has no time to even ask if our meal was ok and did we need anything. They plonked our meals down and we did not see them again. Perhaps that is how the local population like it. Interestingly I booked the first night over the internet and when we said we'd stay another night we got charged $10 more for the 2nd night. Odd business idea given that they didn't have to wash the sheets etc for the 2nd night. Moral of the story, always book by internet, not word of mouth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southener57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

On the 8 th November 2012 we decided to go to The Bridge for a quite night to celebrate our 43rd Aniiversary.
We were met by a lovely lady who showed us to our seat and then chatted to us about some of the history in the area, the atmoshpere was very warming and we had a choice of where we wanted to sit. We were shown the menue and it was a wonderful selection to chose from, I selected absolutely delicious chicken livers for en entree and my wife selected garlic bread which was also a very generous and well presented proportion.
We both decided on the special of the day which was a delicious Orange Roughy dish , beautifully presented and the service was superb, the wine prices were very reasonable and with a good selection .
We would absolutley recommend this wonderful restaurant to any one who enjoys fine dining at a reasonable price.
Well done Bridge fishing Lodge , we will be back .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaipunaOhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We didn't stay at this lodge but did have a dinner at the Bridge Restaurant during a recent visit to Turangi and thought it was ok, nothing particularly special but good enough food – probably a bit overpriced for what we were served. As there are not a ton of dining options in Turangi, if you want a nice atmosphere, this seems to be a good option.

We ordered 1.) the Fish and Chips (NZ$19.50), which was a decent orange roughy fillet and a large order of thick cut chips. Enjoyed this meal - it was a standard fish-and-chips restaurant meal (rating 3 of 5).

For our second, we tried the 2.) Grilled Red Snapper (NZ$31), fish came out oddly, seemed to have been steamed or baked, not grilled but oh well! It tasted ok. Potatoes that came with the dish were also on the average side of things. Overall, this was also a brilliantly prepared or cooked dish, just on the average side of things, making it seem quite pricey for what was served (rating 2.75 of 5).

Overall, we were pleased with the atmosphere of the Bridge Restaurant, finding it welcoming and relaxing. However, the food was not spectacular and felt expensive for what was served on the night of our visit. But this wasn't a bad place, particularly in a small community a bit short on dining options. If in Turangi, you might want to consider a meal here.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was a stop over going from the Cooromandel to Wellington. We would really recommend the rib eye steak. The room was comfortable, but average facilities, and rather noisy from the traffic crossing over the bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My most recent stay was I think my 4th stay at Bridge over 4 decades. Not a lot has changed in the decor and fittings. The Media Services (TV, Video, Internet) are still in the 80's. But a stay the Bridge had always centered itself around the Bar and Restaurant as the Hub area and the services there, which remains still top class and at least Sky and Wifi are available there. There only still the Spas and Sauna's in terms on Resort Facilities. They allow dogs which was the pull for us this time but very good facilities for walking.

An overall upgrade is probably overdue for the place. But I still would probably rate it highly and the rates are very attractive and excellent value. Given it's proximity to Taupo and the Mountain still makes a great place to stay. Don't be put off by it proximity to the highway still relaxing nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.0 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,628 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turangi Bridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turangi Bridge Motel

Address: 4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: $81 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turangi Bridge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With comfortable accommodation, New Zealand cuisine, stunning landscapes and adventure activities right on our doorstep, Turangi Bridge Motel offers everything you need for a real New Zealand holiday escape. Our Turangi accommodation provides access to the Tongariro National Park with a large selection of New Zealand adventure activities including river rafting, mountain biking, skiing, trout fishing and fly fishing, and for the keen hiker, the world famous Tongariro Crossing. We offer a New Zealand restaurant and are available as a function or wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Turangi Bridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing