We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Extreme Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongariro River Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
$76
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Oreti Village(Turangi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
66
26
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
26
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasinner courtyardthe kitchentongariro crossingcaptain jackdouble roomwalking distancestayed here for nightsgreat facilitiescommon roomthe ownergreat kitchentroutwhite water raftingfree wifigreat hostsnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 101 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice kitchen,spacious indoor lounge area,comfy outdoors,good beds,everything was clean and staff very friendly,helpfull and well informed on trecks!
located between lakes and tongarigo national park,nice cafe next door with resonable prices and big climbing wall!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seenixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Unfortunately for us, we came the day after the eruption. However, the reception was helpful in finding alternative tracks and shuttles if needed. Another big plus was the free equipment hire as NZ is known to have all four seasons in one day. We borrowed rain pants, and another person in our party borrowed a day pack, rain jacket, and rain pants. They had some really nice bags, and all in all I'd say the equipment was in good condition, even though luckily we didn't end up needing most of it on our hike.

The hostel itself was clean, and attracted a variety of people. Seems there were just as many fishermen as hikers. There was a large kitchen and dining area that encouraged socializing. The bathrooms were clean, although the showers just had curtains and not actual doors in case you are a stickler for security. There was a real door to the bathroom, but not sure if you could lock that. The toilets did have locking doors on them. Outside doors locked at night, and you were granted a key on arrival to let yourself in.

A big plus was the grocery store was a very short walk away as well as the iSite center. A post office wasn't far off either.

The only negative we found was the laundry room hours. It seemed to close earlier than most. We did like how they had a rope running along the interior of the 'hallway' to hang wet items though. Also, it was nice that they had a bedside lamp in addition to the overhead light for when it got close to bedtime. All in all, we liked it lots!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikeGrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

When the lady in the Turangi visitor info centre said the closest hostel was Extreme Backpackers, I was hesitant. I'm not an extreme backpacker and I didn't want somewhere loud or crowded.

But this place is fantastic! Really great set-up with a big, well stocked kitchen, big dining room and a sitting room with lounges, tv and fireplace. It's clean and the lady on the front desk was pleasant and helpful. It's a 2-3min walk from the shops, pub and supermarket.

I wish I'd stayed here last night as well instead of in Taupo. Top marks in every way. Great value. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinhead22886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Extreme Back-Packer / Hostel is located right off the town center (which seems to totally shut down about 6:00 pm) and near the tourist office. It is a new facility (wood & tin). Rooms are small but adequate. The kitchen / dining was well planned and very busy when we were there. One of two refrigerators was not working and the other was packed full. The grille in the court yard worked fine. The outfitting staff at Ext. BP were very knowledgeable hiking, climbing and local weather conditions. They provided us some rain gear that we lacked (but did not need) and helped us arrange transportation to hike the Tongariro Crossing (a great hike when the weather is clear). We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a few months tramping around NZ and splurged on this hostel on a rainy night before heading to the Tongariro National Park. It was clean, comfortable, the kitchen and common areas were well set up - well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews