We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Birches Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Turangi B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The weather was perfect, the river sang all day, the Lodge and the Cottage both provided excellent accomodation for the wedding; and the outdoor setting of a raised deck in a walled garden flanked by the Lodge was truly wonderful. Great to set the tables outside under all the umbellas to keep us in the shade, flowers in the frame, and the bride and groom just so attractive! You don't need to be a fisherman to stay here. Everyone will find friendliness, peace and comfort.

Room Tip: Depends whether you want the works- for newly weds - Lodge ensuite off living room. Share with fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent Accommodation and the air was so fresh coming from Auckland I really noticed it.
The highlight for me apart from attending my Sister's wedding which was an experience in itself, is the location of the river. I got some wonderful pictures which will remain a treasure to me till my dying day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Anthea and Bill made us feel welcome and looked after us. So much great food, luckily there's plenty of bush walking and mountain biking close by, so I could come back the next day and eat more great food not feeling too guilty!
The hosts have lived in the area for a long time, and are a great source of information and stories.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneFishing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our time at River Birches was amazing, such a beautiful place to stay with a gorgeous garden and even nice interior! We enjoyed the bath with candles each night, woke up to breakfast waiting on the table and the lovely Anthea waiting to cook us a cooked breakfast and the same at dinner! I was blown away by Antheas cooking and her hospitality she made us feel so at home. Highly recommend River Birches! Such a stunning place! Thank you Anthea!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The River Birches is an absolutely lovely cottage. We rented it in October with dreams of doing the Tongariro crossing. While the weather is fickle in New Zealand, the River Birches is an absolutely place full of comforts. The grounds are absolutely stunning and the owner was excellent to make recommendations on things to do in the area as well as the best places for food. We did stay in and cook one night at the cottage has its own lovely kitchen and barbecue. The cottage is approx 30 minute drive from Tongariro National Park and is a great place to stay to start your activities.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildlifefanatic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staying at River Birches was the absolute highlight of our honeymoon!!! I cannot speak highly enough of the place! It is situated in the most idyllic place in the world - Turangi. We enjoyed hiking along the river, and just relaxing in the gardens, or in our room (although we didn't stay inside much, there was so much to see and do). It was one word - perfect. We stayed for 4 nights during our journey from Wellington to the Bay of Islands, in November 2011, and can honestly say it was our favourite location. The service we received was also impeccable.

First, we were upgraded to the best room in the house, which was a lovely surprise. It was just beautiful! The room was tidy, comfortable and welcoming. The bathroom was amazing, even with heated floors! and provided access to a private, outdoors hot tub! We were never cold, and always had our privacy when we needed it.

Our host, Anthea treated us to some AMAZING cooking, and shared the local knowledge of places to visit, and what to expect. She told us about the best tourist spots, recommended places that were not 'touristy' as such - but well worth a visit. She also shared her knowledge of where to dine in the local area, and always catered to my dietry needs, even alerting the restaurants for me so that I could be guaranteed something to eat! (Being allergic to the things I am, can prove tricky when eating out).

River Birches is located close enough to tourist locations that travel is never a challenge, and far enough away to feel exlusive.

Thank you River Birches! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookishTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

River Birches is a beautiful place to stay. It feels luxurious but homely, and spacious yet cosy. Upon arrival we were kindly upgraded (at no extra charge) to the larger Admirals Room in the main lodge because we were the only guests there for our 2 night stay. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable.

We wanted to try our hand at a half day trout fishing so Anthea (the manager) booked Chris Brennan as our professional trout fishing guide before we arrived. We would highly recommend Chris. He was great company and provided all the gear we needed along with transport, a great location, tutoring on how to cast etc, and loads of encouragement to ensure a successful trip. We each caught several trout (released all but one to eat). This was a great activity and one we will remember.

It was a treat to nestle in beside the fireplace with pre dinner drinks and canapes. Anthea cooked lovely meals for us, and was more than happy to cook our trout for us. We felt the evening meals were slightly overpriced at $90 per person but rather than take a "stab in the dark" as to where to eat in Turangi township that would match up to Anthea's cooking we were more than happy to dine in at River Birches. Anthea cooked the best risotto I have ever had and the breakfasts were large and lovely.

Anthea was so helpful and is full of local knowledge so make sure you ask her about her recommendations within the area. Thank you Anthea and River Birches... we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeaPodAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,697 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#8 of 10 in Turangi
193 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#6 of 10 in Turangi
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 10 in Turangi
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Birches Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Birches Lodge

Address: 19 Koura Street | Taupo, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Price Range: $412 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Birches Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Birches is the closest boutique five-star Luxury Lodge to the Tongariro Crossing. The Lodge is set within a peaceful garden-scape beside the renown Tongariro River. Guests can select from a range of exciting activities, from fly fishing, hiking, mountain biking the riverside trails, white water rafting, golfing to winter skiing on Mount Ruapehu. River Birches offers single party, privately guided Tongariro Crossing. Positioned alongside the Lodge, sits The Cottage at River Birches. This beautiful self-contained property provides a superb option for families and larger groups of travellers who appreciate the privacy, spaciousness, and independence of a high quality architecturally designed, luxury residence. River Birches Lodge and The Cottage at River Birches proudly support Destination Charging for Electronic Vehicles and has two TESLA EV chargers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Birches Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing